At the end of a successful run, I got kicked in the chest by greed.

in #crypto6 years ago

If you are a slave to the crypto space like I am, you are probably familiar with the torrent stream of information constantly flowing from the internet to in between your ears. It is a roaring river of knowledge hoping to implant, stick to wisdom, and produce some meaningful gains.

As a noob, I keep hearing buy low and sell high. Also, buy when the price dips to an overbought zone in the Bollinger bands. I am a white belt, and these are early lessons. I take them to heart, and I sign onto binance this morning.

Aaaaaaaand there I am, trying to day trade a coin far overbought. I immediately start losing money. With such a small amount to trade with, there is zero room for error. So the slightest dip triggers a sell from me. I take the loss for the stupid buy in. I told myself I wouldn't do it again. . . And yet, there I go again. Buying into a coin on a long ride up. This time i would get lucky, and i would make almost 10 percent gain.

This emboldened my ego. I figured if I could just keep it small. Small increase. I could come out on top. The last loss dropped me below 300 and I needed to get back. I switched coins to another that was on the top gainers list. I picked a coin with 9percent growth in the last 24 hours. I tried to be cautious and look around. But I knew. I knew I was going to buy in.

I fomo'd in like a fool. Not following the Bollinger bands. Like a fool. So I got burned like a fool. The end for today.

Sort:  

Wow nice post. Keep em coming. will folloy you for more in the future :)

Congratulations @sithtentacle! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @sithtentacle! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @sithtentacle! You received a personal award!

Thank you for the witness votes you made to support your Steem community and for keeping the Steem blockchain decentralized

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Use your witness votes and get the Community Badge
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!