Sort:  

Hi @thefeetofpete , So, the idea with them is usually that the coin would be backed by a certain amount of marijuana, the same as some currencies claim to be backed by gold. I actually don't believe there is a 'marijuanacoin' right now, I was just using that term to refer to the marijuana backed coins, such as potcoin, dopecoin, and cannabiscoin. All 3 of these are sold on Bittrex, fyi. :)

Ohh OK. So the idea is that as the marijuana economy gains steam, that these coins will as well? But actually there really is a marijuanacoin with that exact name lol Didn't realize that you were just generalizing a bunch of different marijuana currencies, but you may have stumbled on to something regardless. https://coinmarketcap.com/currencies/marijuanacoin/
its actually up 3 cents or so since my first search for it when I first commented here, not too shabby. It I compared it to potcoin and they both are around the same price, and seem to spike at just about the same times. But again, its not supported by any of my wallets though.

and yeah, that's the idea, that they would grow as the marijuana economy does.

oh wow, i didn't know that. Thanks for pointing that out! Definitely one I'll check out too!