You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Security Lessons Learned from @JewKorean

in #crypto6 years ago

Absolutely! Thank you because you mentioned a step I need to do. If you are your own bank you can never be paranoid enough. That point about Monero reminds me: When Bitcoin was trading at a much lower price, I used to wear Bitcoin t shirts around the community. It is how I was able to buy Bitcoin on the street. But when it became a status symbol I stopped wearing those shirts. It’s saying “I got money.” So my advice is to always blend in wherever you are. Next, store most of your cryptocurrency in offline wallets. Cold wallets or a hardware wallet. Keep hard copies of the seeds on a burnable CD ROM. Store it in a safe deposit box. I own a Trezor. I rarely do firmware updates because my 24 word cards are needed in case the update fails. I keep my cards in a safe. The amount of cryptocurrency I buy these days is small anyway so I buy it on a central exchange (using 2FA of course).