"Lurker": Tokenized artwork

in #cryptoart5 years ago (edited)

My newest tokenized artwork, "Lurker". was created while listening to the excellent Vampair Series story by Daria Cohen, using music by Voltaire.

DarkerDragons-small.gif

https://superrare.co/artwork/lurker-3683

To create this little horrifying dragonling, I started out, I kid you not, with this image taken by my sister, Marie, of a toad that's been visiting/living in my mothers garden for at least a decade or so:

I then did some editing in GIMP

And looked at what kind of output I could get from the Kaleidoscope:


I tested a few filters to create some more visuals:



I did some editing of the eyes, by selecting a specific region of the eye and entering a Supernova effect into it:

As you can see, in between the two I also erased some of the extra material.

Initially, I intended for that excess mateial to resemble wings, but no matter how I tried to rework it, I couldn't get the effect to my liking.

The Supernova effect was applied the same to all 3 image types I've shown, and I used the original image to create a background for it.

I then used the GIMP G'MIC-qt plugin's Blend[fade] effect to combine the different images using a circular fading pattern.

After that, I wanted to replicate an effect from an old work "Out of the shadows, into the light":

https://superrare.co/artwork/o...-into-the-light-1682
The effect has it fading in and out of darkness, so I created a copy of the current image, but using a few filters to darken it (mainly Contrast and an Edge Detection algorithm)

I then created an even darker copy, and duplicated the two others:

And rearranged the order a bit and used the default Blend functionality of GIMP to create a GIF.

I then converted the image to 255 colors and applied the "Optimize (for GIF)" effect to reduce size:

and voila !

https://superrare.co/artwork/lurker-3683

Sort:  

Congratulations @pbock! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 18000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 19000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!