You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Name YOUR decentralized social network?

in #cryptocurrencies5 years ago (edited)

Here is a blog from Mike Hearn about my app browser concept which I mentioned up-thread.

I added more name ideas to my consolidated post earlier in this thread of discussion. Some of these “newly” published ideas are recycled from private naming ideas I’ve had over the past 3 years.

That consolidated post can’t be further expanded because it reached STEEM’s 16KB size limit for comment posts, so I’m adding more name ideas below the excerpt from the consolidated post as follows:


EDIT#6: I added Boonanza, Breakout, Bustout, Combed, Cur8d, Dappsule, Delouse, Digiverse (which can be abbreviated Dverse), Doughble, Fr33d, Honed, Kleen, Klout, Ndelible, Oodles, Opened, Sthrong, Svelte, Unblocked and Unl0ckd.

In this context, ‘unlocked’/‘unlocked’ means absence of a paywall and/or centralized vendor lock-in, ‘clout’ in this context means (individual) influence or power, ‘clean’ in this context means tidied with absence of clutter or unwanted matter, and ‘comb’ means to untangle, arrange or tidy, as well as to sift through.

Abstractly comb relates to decentralized curation. Clean relates to the ad-free, slave/spyware-free, absence of extractive, centralized ownership that are the benefits of an Etonomy (i.e. a Fat Protocol).

Dverse can be related to diversity, decentralized universe and digital universe.

Remember there was some dislike of the Boonus name I proposed earlier in this discussion thread.

Dappsule originates from an earlier suggestion by @quillfiller:

For the latter, a quick name idea I had was Capsule.

Note that E and Etonomy can be misassociated with environmentalism and green energy efficient (although an energy efficient blockchain is desirable if they users also make the leap from environmentalism to an environmentally to a blockchain, which would not be something they would know a priori). Klout or Cur8d could optionally use the klout token as I previously suggested or the CRED token (even though it’s already overused by other altcoins). Digiverse or Dverse could optionally use a digits or quanta token. Thus Dverse could also be considered as a replacement for Etonomy for the ledger name with the other names under consideration for user-facing dApps that are “powered by Dverse” or “a Dverse-based dApp”.




NameDomains
Bespoke(.app/.io/.net/bespoked.com/.net unused, .com/.me for sale, .org $24888, .xyz $5370, .info $1475, bspoke.com redirects to minted.com, .io $1900, b‑spoke.com $9888, besp0ke.com not in serious use, .as/.cash/.ec/.fi/.fyi/.gl/.id/.sh/.space/.tube/.wiki/ bspoke.cc/.network/.to/.us/.xyz/.zone/ bespoked.app/.in/.network/.to/.xyz/.zone/ besp0ke.app/.co/.io/.me/.net/.org/.to/.us/.xyz/ b‑spoke.app/.cc/.io/.me/.network/.org/.to/.us/.xyz/.zone/ bsp0ke.com/.net/.org/ b‑sp0ke.com/.net/.org available)
Blocring(blockring.app/.com/.io/.net/.org unused, .app/.com/.io/.me/.net/.org/.to/.us/.xyz available)
Cluster(.com/.net/clustr.com/.net/.org unused, .co/.me might be for sale, .app $8063, clustr.co $2950, .cash/.cam/.fun/.id/.im/.is/.land/.onl/.tube/.us.com/.vote/.ws/ clustr.cc/.network/.to/.xyz/.zone available)
Clustherd
Clustered
(clustered.com unused, .org for sale, .co suspended, clusterd.com/.net/.org unused, .co suspended, .app/.com/.io/.me/.net/.org/.to/.us/.xyz/ clustered.app/.cc/.in/.network/.to/.us/.zone/ clusterd.app/.cc/.in/.me/.network/.to/.us/.xyz/.zone available)
Crunk(.net not in serious use, .com for sale, .org $9138, .xyz $1607, .app/.cc/.network/.to/.tube available)
Dloopla(intheloopla.com unused, .app/.com/.io/.me/.net/.org/.to/.us/.xyz/dloop.la/ ndloopla.app/.com/.io/.me/.net/.org/.to/.us/.xyz/ndloop.la/ n‑d‑loopla.app/.com/.io/.me/.net/.org/.to/.us/.xyz/n‑d‑loop.la/ in‑the‑loopla.app/.com/.io/.me/.net/.org/.to/.us/.xyz/in‑the‑loop.la/ intheloopla.app/.co/.io/.me/.net/.org/.to/.us/.xyz/intheloop.la available)
Glean(.com for sale, .io $32249, gleen.net unused, .com used for appliance info, .cc/.im/.network/.to/.zone/ gleen.app/.co/.in/.network/.to/.xyz/.zone available)
Kempt(.co/.net/.org unused, .com registered by Google, .app/.cc/.io/.me/.network/.to/.us/.xyz/.zone)
Myriadted(myriadte.com registered by Google, .app/.com/.io/.me/.net/.org/.to/.us/.xyz/ myriadte.app/.co/.io/.me/.net/.org/.to/.us/.xyz available)
ndloop(.com $3295, intheloop.com redirects to myturn.com, in-the-loop.com redirects to loopla.com .app/.co/.io/.me/.network/.org/.to/.us/.xyz/ n‑d‑loop.app/.com/.io/.me/.network/.org/.to/.us/.xyz available)
Oohlala(.com/.org/ooh‑la‑la.com/oh‑la‑la.com unused, .net $11352, oolala.com used for a 3 person video production services, .net $2795, .org $2500, .in $459, ohlala.com used for dating, oo‑la‑la.com used for a boutique, .app/.fun/.im/.network/.to/.xyz/.zone/ oolala.app/.fun/.im/.network/.to/.xyz/.zone/ ooh‑la‑la.app/.cc/.io/.me/.net/.org/.to/.xyz/ oh‑la‑la.app/.cc/.io/.net/.org/.to/.xyz available)
Privvy(.com/.net/.org/privy.org unused, privy.com used for B2B ecommerce s/w, .net redirects to privycircle.com, .io for sale, .cc/.in/.io/.network/.one/.to/.xyz/.zone available)
Reptrail
Reptail
(.com/reptail.com unused, reptails.com in not very serious use,reptale.com redirects to reptale.de and used for reptile information, reptales.com $1788, .app/.co/.io/.me/.net/.org/.to/.us/.xyz/ reptail.app/.co/.io/.me/.net/.org/.to/.us/.xyz/ reptails.app/.co/.io/.me/.net/.org/.to/.us/.xyz/ reptrails.app/.com/.io/.me/.net/.org/.to/.us/.xyz/ reptales.app/.co/.io/.me/.net/.org/.to/.us/.xyz available)
Sieve(sieved.com/.net unused, .com for sale, .net $3000, .org $3439, .me $4000, .xyz $1607, .ai/.im/.to/.ws/.zone/ sieved.app/.cc/.co/.in/.io/.me/.network/.org/.to/.us/.xyz/.zone available)
Sortd(.org unused, .co/.com/.net used for Gmail organizer, sorted.net/org unused, .com used for B2B fulfillment s/w, sorted.co $14992, sorted.us expired, s0rted.com used for website creation service, .app/.cc/.me/.in/.io/.network/.to/.xyz/ sorted.me/.to/ s0rtd.app/.com/.io/.me/.net/.org/.to/.us/.xyz/ s0rted.app/.co/.io/.me/.net/.org/.to/.us/.xyz available)
Sortie(.net unused, .com $50000, .org $1613, .app/.cc/.im/.network/.to/ s0rtie.app/.com/.io/.me/.net/.org/.to/.us/.xyz available)
Quoring(.com not in serious use, .app/.co/.io/.me/.net/.org/.to/.us/.xyz available)
Qwilk(.app/.com/.io/.me/.net/.org/.to/.us/.xyz available)

Bespoke means made for a particular customer or user, i.e. custom-made as opposed to mass-produced with limited individualized customization. Thus it abstractly provides maximum degrees-of-freedom for the user (at least not in the time domain since there’s no implied expediency).

Blocring is intended to have multiple meanings:

  • rings of blocks or rings within blockchains
  • bloc: a combination of parties sharing a common purpose
  • bloc: allocation of things regarded as a unit (e.g. blocks of transactions in a blockchain)
  • ring: a group of people drawn together due to a shared interest or goal

I don’t propose Crunk for a general dApp portal name, but rather for a music-related dApp name.

Glean means assimilate/distill/extract (information) from a plethora of sources, or accumulate gradually and bit by bit. It thus implies that access to the diverse information is not restricted. As opposed to being fed one-size-fits-all, centralized dogma.

Kempt means maintained in a neat and clean condition.

Myriadted (besides being impossible to spell) is intended to be phonetically myriad + rated = merited which I think is creative and brandable.

The in-the-loop (ndloop) idiom means: aware of information known to only a privileged few, e.g. privy to the scoop. Can imply information available only to those in a like-minded cadre. Note it seems to create the connotation of needing to join, i.e. jealous if you miss the invitation-only party. Regarding the _loopla variants which seems to connote more carefree, superfluous, gossipy, humorous and less serious than in-the-loop, Americans understand the meaning of ‘hoopla’ to be: excitement surrounding an event or situation, especially when considered to be unnecessary fuss. Note Loopla has an insignificantly low traffic Alexa ranking only in the top 8+ million sites because they haven’t launched since the formation in 2016. The CEO/CTO/co-founder Henry Schneiderman is an expert in facial recognition technology.

Oohlala can express that the speaker is impressed or surprised in a variety of situations, not just sexual. So it could possibly connote discovering hidden gems of content.

Reptrails is about the open source trail of (possibly pseudonymous) reputation stored on the blockchain that enables decentralized features I describe in more detail elsewhere.

Sieve means to remove (unwanted items), distinguish and separate out, or check and sort carefully. So it implies unwanted content (and annoying ads) have been separated out so the user can decide whether to hide/discard them.

The most generalized definition of Sortie is a brief trip away from your home base, especially a trip to an unfamiliar place. So this could correlate with content sorted such that it is proximate to your base interests, yet exploratory.

Note that ‘privy’ means to be told information that is not told to many people, but some rejected this idea before because an archaic definition is: the toilet. Also I think this connotes privacy more than it does (non-exclusive) access to information. Although we can say being privy to all the data that centralized websites don’t normally share publicly.

Qwilk is intended to be a portmanteau of qwik + ilk.

NameBeneficial Meaning
BespokeCustomized way I want it.
Combed
Sieve
Show only what I want.
DappsuledApp browser platform.
D(igi)verseDiverse, digital, decentralized universe.
DoughbleEarn more (e.g. double) money/rewards.
EtonomyAutonomous, decentralized economy of E cryptoken/ledger.
GleanFocused variety.
Klout
Reptrail
Reputation history prevents spam/cheating.
NdelibleUnerasable.
OodlesAbundance of content, rewards, variety. Cornucopia.
OohlalaWow.
SthrongStrength through synergy of the crowd, e.g. crowdsourcing.
Unl0ckdUnrestricted access. No paywalls.



















Sort:  

 I like Dappsule. It’s catchy and descriptive of the concept (for user facing dApp name I assume)... I also like the associated meaning for Komb

‘comb’ means to untangle, arrange or tidy, as well as to sift through.

Although with the 'k' spelling I read it as pronounced like bomb. I like Dcomb or Ecomb better (broken record - I know...)

Loading...