Simple way to build a crypto protfolio

in #cryptocurrencies7 years ago (edited)

When I started out on my Crypto quest I found it daunting and hard to get my head around all the information out there.

Where do I buy, what do I buy, where do I store what I buy there are so many ways of doing things and every one has an opinion on how you should do it.

So what I am going to do here is give a basic quick guide just to get you up and running, whilst you are gathering both knowledge and basic understanding of Crypto currencies.

OK here we go first you need a wallet to store your new purchases, a good starting point is Exodus wallet.
this is an easy wallet to handle with build in Shapeshift ( Shapeshift lets you exchange on coin for another all in house ).

The wallet can be downloaded from http://Exodus.io

Exodus is a good starting wallet as once you have bought some Bitcoin or Ethereum you can swap and change them for other coins allowing you to spread your portfolio over different assets.

The nice simple graphic interface gives a nice visual record of your on going assets with up to date quantity and values.
I personally found this a great starting block to get me off the ground.

Then comes the buying side.

Again an easy start is Coinbase: https://www.coinbase.com this exchange is simple to use, just sign up and buy with your debit card.

When I started I would buy Bitcoin on the Coinbase site then instantly move the bitcoin to my Exodus account.

This is very simple to do .

1: Go to your exodus wallet open bitcoin in the wallet tab, copy the receive address

2: Go to Coinbase in the account bitcoin tab click send.

3: Paste Exodus bitcoin wallet address in to the send to box

4: click send

Simple as that, then when it gets you exodus you can then either just stack up your bitcoin or you can spread the load to other assets.

I initially aimed for 1 of each coin over £100 and 100 of each coin under £10 there is no rush to do this but you will find it really grabs you when you see your portfolio start to grow.

I have 4 rules to all my investments

1: Back up pass phrases

2: Make sure you have backed up your pass phrases

3: Make a secondary back up of all pass phrases

4: have fun and enjoy it

Now I have progresses to other wallets but I still use Exodus and I find it so easy to use with great visuals.

I hope this very basic guide will help someone out there as it can be very scary dipping your toe in the water of the Crypto world