Paintings #19 - My first painting on the blockchain!!

I have been wanting to get my artwork onto the blockchain for some time now, but it wasn't until I came across SuperRare that things started to fall into place.

SuperRare is a platform that sells highly collectable, rare and cryptographically registered digital artwork, backed by non-fungible tokens on the Ethereum blockchain. Finally, today, I tokenized my first digital artwork. This unique piece is now waiting for a willing collector to make it their own...

where the sky touches the seaEDIT2.jpg
'Where the sky touches the sea', 2019, digital by Adam Fryda

The tokenization of artwork (or any other asset) is one of the revolutions that blockchain tech has been promising, and is one of the many exciting aspects of this space. If you follow the SuperRare link above, you can find out how it works, and what you get as a potential investor and collector of rare tokenized digital art.

The painting itself was inspired by my love of nature, particularly the dramatic and desolate seascapes of old masters, like J.M.W. Turner. I start the work in a traditional way (with paint and canvas). Often I use multimedia (inks, paints, pencils, pastels etc) to create a particular effect.

DSCF2361.JPG
Detail of the work in progress on canvas

DSCF2362.JPG
The finished 'traditional' artwork, pre-digitisation

After this stage, I digitise the artwork and finish working it on Photoshop, as a digital artwork. The original is then destroyed, so now it only exists in its digital form.

where the sky touches the seaEDIT.jpg
First edit of digital piece, 2018

The digital process can take several edits before I arrive at the completed painting. This is then tokenized onto the Ethereum blockchain as a one-off original painting (much like an original oil or watercolour painting).

As I am new to this particular market place and this form of technology, I am waiting with interest to see how it unfolds. In the coming weeks I will be tokenizing more artwork, at various prices, and will be trying out SuperRare's auction option too.

Watch this space if you are interested in collecting my artwork! I will, of course, keep you all updated on steemit too!

I think this is a fitting 'next step' to my introduction to the blockchain, made 1 year ago this month, when I joined Steemit. Looking forward to see what the next 12 months in crypto brings...

Adam.

All images copyrighted Adam Fryda 2019

Sort:  

Hello @adamfryda-art, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thanks @creativecrypto, that's awesome. Your support is greatly appreciated :)

That is a really cool painting! There is a lot to see and I’m glad you placed in twice in the post so I had a break to look at it again. I really like the shapes in the sky

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks @balticbadger, really appreciate you kind comment - thanks for the support :)

Congratulations @adamfryda-art! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 100 posts. Your next target is to reach 150 posts.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!