EOS Responds to Block Chainiver (Formerly John Oliver)

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago

Block-Chainiver.jpg

The EOS team responds on Medium with what a lot of people would agree was a little bit of a vague post. Outlining a few topics mentioned by John Oliver in the recent episode of his awesome show, Last Week Tonight. Based on the comments left for the EOS team by uninformed individuals falling for the FUD I wanted to take a moment to outline a few things that EOS took to the stage to say and that may have come off as, "vague."

I'll start off with the fact that the EOS team (EOSIO) took a moment to acknowledge the fact that there are dangers in the crypto world that new and seasoned users need to be cautious about. Things like overzealous marketing and phishing for private keys have plagued the crypto world for a long time, only affecting those who seem to have been brought in by the FOMO which makes them ripe targets.

For those that don't know EOSIO's parent company is Block.one.

They went further to elaborate on who the CTO of Block.one is and what he has done for the blockchain world of technology and transactions. A good number of people in the comments seem to be skeptical of the fact that EOS somehow have most of the global blockchain transactions being processed by the Delegated Proof of Stake(DPOS) blockchain architecture developed by Dan Larimer, the CTO.
In my opinion, this statement banks off of the fact that a number of systems work on systems that they've built and variants of the same which allows them to make such a claim.

Before I continue, I will say that I'm an EOS bag holder slowly accumulating more and more with each round on the path to becoming a whale, so as for as open as my thoughts maybe I do believe in EOS, EOSIO, and the Block.one team.

That said I do want to say that they have had some unsavory characters working for them in the past. A matter that seems to have been resolved very recently. The funny thing about the individual I'm referring to here is that I only found out about him during Block Chainiver's show. Obviously, I'm not one to spend time listening to people talk on stage about where their wedding was when the forum was supposed to be about a revolutionary piece of technology, I'm also not into people who brag or behave like they're the ultimate best. So it only stands to reason why I had no clue this guy even existed. So In my world, it's more along the lines of, good riddance, I didn't even know you.

Some people may be excessively speculative about the year-long EOS token sale and to that, I say you don't have to participate. A lot of people involved in the token sale I would say are individuals with somewhat of a background in developing applications and blockchain architecture and the idea of being able to offload their applications onto an unsaturated network upon launch is a great idea. Lord knows that's why I have invested in a number of tokens. As a developer myself every time I think of a less saturated network with lower transaction times or lower transaction fees I'm excited. As much as I love Ethereum and will never stop using Ethereum I'm curious to see what block.one has in store with EOS.

I think most of you knowledgeable individuals out there will skin me alive if I fail to mention the fact that EOS has been built ontop of Ethereum and in the event of high volume, will experience the same transactional issues. To that, all I can say is, time will tell.

Overall I'm looking forward to what I'm actively developing on the EOS test network(Dawn 2.x, can't wait for compatibility with Dawn 3.x) and that will be my true benchmark for the EOS V Ethereum debate.

EOS Medium Post: https://medium.com/eosio/dear-john-oliver-6aa5ac5fff26

My other blog posts:

https://steemit.com/crypto-gaming/@am44/this-is-why-eth-town-will-be-the-leading-crypto-collectible

https://steemit.com/cryptocurrencies/@am44/criteria-for-making-a-successful-dapp-decentralized-application