You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Legal Basis of Cryptocurrency Forks

in #cryptocurrency4 years ago (edited)

I don't think this is true, because cryptocurrency nodes are run in given geographical locations, even if the entire network itself is spread across multiple countries. Hence, at minimum, the local laws apply to the individual computers (nodes) operating in particular countries, in my opinion.

This doesn't make every node operator obliged to obey US law, but I think US law applies to people who operates nodes in the US, and I'm pretty sure on this point if they also reside in the US.

Sort:  

I guess we can always rely on nationalism and countries thinking of their own self-interest, I doubt there can ever be a day when all nations could agree on something so yes nodes could be taken down in certain countries but as long its spread across as many locations.

Now i'm wondering might be extreme but could nodes be run in international waters and how would that be governed?

It's a good question, but my knowledge of law in international waters is only second-hand. I've read somewhere that the laws of a ship in international waters was in someway related to the country where it's registered, but I have never researched the point, and I'm sure there's more to it. I would guess there's a whole separate body of law based on treaties between countries. But google could probably answer better than me on this topic right now.

But, if you're interested in this topic, you might find this article interesting: https://steemit.com/beos/@blocktrades/jurisdictional-agility-in-beos

That's the beauty of p2p, if nodes go down in one location/country, the network remains functional elsewhere :)