I'm reposting for help on Crypto Wallets

I'm still very new to the crypto world. I understand online wallets and have just purchased a hardware wallet for offline storage of cryptocurrencies. Now to the difficult part for me (which sadly, I feel, is probably the easiest to obtain). I clearly am showing my naivete and I'm OK with that...how in the hell do you obtain a paper wallet for your crypto? I know what it IS, I just don't know what the hell to do, or how to find the information that I need, to actually write down & store. Anyone willing to help a moron? Anything at all?

Sort:  

If you're going to use a hardware wallet then there's no need to use a paper wallet. The hardware wallet should give you a seed phrase (12-24 words) that you should write down in case the hardware is lost or damaged.

What if the hardware wallet doesn't accept some of the alt coins that I have?

In general, offline storage involves creating private keys and then keeping the private keys on an offline device or paper. The easiest and safest method is using a seed phrase that will generate all your private keys. Hopefully, the official wallet software for the altcoin will support seed phrase creation, otherwise you may have to rely on third-party wallet software.

Without a seed phrase, the private keys need to be directly saved. For example, for STEEM your password (that begins with "P5") is the private key that should be kept offline.

This article may be helpful. It's about storing bitcoin, but it applies to all cryptocurrencies: https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Storing_bitcoins

Thank you for all your insight. Please don't hate me if I end up having more questions haha

Congratulations @brandonocom! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!