The future of blockchain real world applications

OK, so for my first Steemit post, I decided to share some ideas I've thought about for some potential non-monetary applications.
I believe that sometimes the freshest ideas come from a place of ignorance. Once you know all the ins and outs of a subject, your inspiration is clouded by what you think is possible.
This brings me to my perspective, which is very new to cryptocurrencies. Perhaps these ideas aren't new or even possible, or perhaps they are and might be of use to someone looking to develop a new use for blockchains.

  1. Software Licensing
    The idea is that a token key would be issued for every copy of the software distributed. The wallet would be built into the software (could be a third party company). Upon installation, one would "insert token" to be validated on the blockchain. Without the token, the software cannot run. The token key could be transffered with the software to a new owner or a new token could be purchased if lost.

  2. Law Enforcement
    Recently a co-worker of mine was pulled over for a busted headlight. The officer then informed him that he had an outstanding warrant for his arrest. He argued but it was no use, he was arrested and spent 7 hours in jail for a charge that had been cleared in the county in which it was issued. He was released when it was discovered that the warrant had been dropped. He's still trying to get out of paying for his car being impounded. So the idea here is that all warrants, charges etc would have a token that would be a more binary system of 1 or 0 rather than whatever the current system is that aparently allows one jurasdiction to clear a warrant while a neighboring one does not. This idea is not as fully developed, but I think there's some potential here as well.

OK, so feel free to let me know if there are already crypto's that do this or why this wouldn't work. I suppose these examples fall more closely under the contract aspect of cryptos than the monetary.

Thanks for reading my first Steemit post. Please follow me, you never know what to expect next!

Sort:  

Keep writing, you never know what to expect next! I think Steemit is facing some issues in terms of keeping the content original and different to other social media platforms (not to mention performance issues, but please try other platforms like busy.org if that's the case). Hope your contribution here will help to make a difference :)

Thank you kind stranger! I really want to dive into steemit and cryptos, but I'm just getting my feet wet for now.

Also, I hope steemit can find a way to make Steemit look better. There are some really great web designers out there and the technology has developed so much that the potential for a great looking and functioning site aren't out of the question. As it stands, Steemit looks like a stripped down twitter feed. Perhaps they can make it a little more colorful or enable customizable pages like the old Livejournal days.

I am sure you'll find plenty of things going on here, but just to help you get started these are a couple of things I thought you might be interested in:

An online contract/dispute resolution based on the blockchain technology
https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@jury.online/introducing-jury-online-and-the-jot-token-or-the-future-of-dispute-resolution

An online gaming platform based on blockchain technology:
https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@nume/a-look-into-the-hash-rush-game

Thanks. I'm getting more and more excited about blockchain tech by the day. It's crazy that most people don't even realize how much this will change the world.