Narrative (NRVE) new Steemit competitor

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago

narrative-horizontal-small.png

Narrative network is NEO based social platform that have started their ICO at 20.02.2018.

Link to Narrative network: https://www.narrative.network/

FireShot Capture 5 - Narrative Token Sale I Your Acco_ - https___tokensale.narrative.network_account.png

I have took some screenshots from their whitepaper to introduce their idea:

Whitepaper link: https://assets.narrative.network/documents/narrative-network.pdf

FireShot Capture 8 -  - https___assets.narrative.network_documents_narrative-network.pdf.png

FireShot Capture 2 -  - https___assets.narrative.network_documents_narrative-network.pdf.png

FireShot Capture 1 -  - https___assets.narrative.network_documents_narrative-network.pdf.png

FireShot Capture 3 -  - https___assets.narrative.network_documents_narrative-network.pdf.png

FireShot Capture 4 -  - https___assets.narrative.network_documents_narrative-network.pdf.png

FireShot Capture 7 -  - https___assets.narrative.network_documents_narrative-network.pdf.png

Personally I was expecting that Steemit will get some competition, and healthy competition is always good. It push you to work harder and Steemit and Narrative users will benefit for sure. Steemit is way ahead at moment and Narrative will be fully functional at the and of this year, but I am sure that will be enough users for Narrative also, even it will not be serious competitor to Steemit anytime soon.

For sure there will be more social networks this type in future and I am really happy to see how blockchain technology is changing world.

Do you think that Narrative has chance to become successful social network?
I would like to hear your opinions about Narrative

Sort:  
There are 2 pages
Pages

Narrative looks like a deflationary coin with a fixed amount being produced. This causes long term problem with regards to where the fuuture rewards will come from. Anything short of inflation to maintain rewards pool is a doomed attempt from where I’m sitting. But, it will take 30 years for them to get there! Lol. I’m probably not going to be jumping to anything that’s not already running with at least 25-50k members! However, APPICS ICO looks a bit more interesting for me right now considering it’s STEEMs first SMT!!

I will look for APPICS. Thanks 😁

I completely agree. I think theyre trying to hard to capitalize on a system thats already been perfected here. Theyre whitepaper doesnt hold a candle to steem. APPICS is gunna be so awesome!!

Steemit is far from perfect. But it is working

I think Narrative can have more than just a fighting chance, if Steemit doesn't improve the current reward pool structure.

Right now a relatively small group has the majority of SteemPower and new Steemians have a mountain to climb when they start. Narrative won't have that problem and that may cause a massive plankton migration.

That would be bad news for the whales.

So I hope that the Steemit 1% recognizes this and acts accordingly.

trein cartoon text.jpg

Agree with you. Main problem of Steemit is involving new users easier. Even if you write great posts as new user, it is very hard that anybody will see that and this will discourage new users. Developers should change something about that...

I think it is the biggest challange that Steemits faces. I am preparing a blog post on this which I am going to post later on @weddingdresses. I hope the developers see this as an incentive to adress these issues pronto. Everybody who is on Steemit now is an early adaptor.

Let's not give away that head start and let's not stick our heads in the sand by ignoring Narrative and other such platforms that may appear;-)

Yes this is good. Don't ignore possible competitors.

Please tell me where you can publish a new blog or just content and be successful from thr beginning. Of course you need to climb a mountain first and it will geteasier over time. You can not just expect to be famous with your first post, even if it would bethe best blogpost ever written.

Waht would Steemit really help is actually confirming new registrations. I know quite a lot of people who are waiting already 2 weeks or so.

I've wondered about people complaining about how hard it is to get new posts seen as a newbie myself, and for the reason you state. On any blog you expect it to be crickets except for however much you promote your post by linking to it in other places or paying to "boost" it.

I think the thing with Steemit that makes people have a different expectation (so be disappointed) is that this is a mashup between a blog and social media. On your own website, you know no one is seeing your article if you don't drive them there to see it. But on Facebook, for example, you only joined because you had friends on there. So there was a ready made audience and the FB algorithm intentionally showed your posts to new friends a lot for quite some time.

Here on Steemit there is the expectation of an experience like FB because it is on a platform, not one's own website. But there is no algorithm here sending people to you! And for most of us there isn't a friend/family network already here to "introduce us around." Friends of friends aren't suggested for us to follow. In general, it's a lot like having a blog on your own website, even though it's hosted on a platform. We should feel grateful we have the chance to have articles seen at all before we have collected followers.

Exactly. Steemit isn't just fot everyoen but for people who actually wanna blog. For these people(us) it is rather easy to find readers tho. :)

We will se how Narrative will work. Now we can just guess acording to whitepaper...

Thank u for sharing!

Good post !

Keep it up!!!

@cryptoinvestinfo

It's an exponential function too, because as the site scales up, discovery tanks. Inverse exponential functions like that are never a good thing.

 6 years ago  Reveal Comment

Thanks 😁

 6 years ago  Reveal Comment

Can someone give me a quick summary of the difference between the reward pool structure. The images are not showing up for some reason.

Go to whitepaper link. There you can see reward structure.

But if you think Steemit gives the power to everyone to choose who you want to vote or not, it is possible for newcomers like me to just take a look at the 'new' stream and vote the post of other newcomers like me. We are not forced to vote the 'bigges ones in the pool'. The power is in our hands, and the newcomers are the majority ;)

Exactly hit nail on the mofo head

Well Said. I have a lot of faith on the Steemit project because this is an absolutely amazing idea, with that being said, we still have the problem of the whales. While I do not think that is bad at all to be a whale, I think the way the system is designed discourages newcomers like me from curating content.

Why would I want to upvote anything with my limited resources if other people are not doing it? So in a way, it kind of forces you to either:

  1. Follow the whales and upvote whatever they post and you will get curation rewards.

  2. Use something like Steemauto to help you.

  3. Suck it up, and produce great content for long periods of time while having enough patience of dealing with whales whose posts never leave the top hot/trending spots because their sheer power.

I feel that's how it always works in (any) blockchain. Its kind of unreal, given the overall stance most people take for entering crypto int he first place. Bitcoin = 0.6% of users control ~85% of the coins. https://bitinfocharts.com/top-100-richest-bitcoin-addresses.html

Exactly I agree, too complicated to understand and to join high le

I like the narrative project and will be paying attention to their AMA tomorrow on youtube.

I have a strong interest in seeing this project push forward and succeed as we need the competition.

Finally the reasons they decided to use NEO over Ethereum as a platform were solid and I look forward to their future performance.

https://blog.narrative.network/youtube-ama-for-narrative-founding-team-6a1faad6ec4f

Also Cryptonite certified
https://blog.narrative.network/narrative-is-cryptonite-certified-a9276e520523

Same here. I have invested in Narrative because I like their idea. They don’t try to copy Steemit, they try to have their own path. In Steemit if you have enough money, you can profit even if you don’t bring quality content to the network. At Narrative without good content you will not get rewarded.

Definitely I look forward to seeing them charging down their own path 30 minutes to go

I dont think so, but who knows

I don't think Narrative stands a chance either. From what I read, it's the "Founders" (aka. Whales) who will buy in with enough cash to get control of the "Niches" and appoint their own "Moderators". That will be a highly restrictive and kiss-up-to-the-founders type of environment I would never want to be part of personally.

And we've got SMTs coming. Nobody needs to move to Narrative. There will be plenty of opportunities opened up to everyone here to earn more rewards through the variety of web properties that distribute their own SMTs.

Exciting times ahead for Steem. Narrative? Meh.

Maybe you're right, we will see.What is SMTs?

Well, that's hard to say what will happen,my oppinion is that somehow Steemit and Narrative may be compete,and both side will have theyr supporters, they will have they'r own development ways,but at this moment we are more far then Narrative in therms of development and community, about your second question - full info about SMT's is here: https://smt.steem.io/

Thanks 😁

Glad to help :)

In practice steemit might not be all that different as steemit allows you to do the same thing in a slightly more roundabout way. Narrative will have some initial support from the Neo community and with limited projects on the Neo platform it will get a fair bit of visibility.
Competition is generally a good thing though and I think steemit might ultimately benefit from it.

The world is big enough to handle them both, and more.

That's true.

I was thinking a few weeks ago about something like this because, like you said, steemit needs a competitor (in a healthy way), just to impulse a litte bit more the plataform and try to excite users to make better posts. Even thoug Narrative is going to be ready for next year (I think so) I'm excited to try it and to work in both pages (Narrative and Steemit), which I think is something that a lot of users here in steemit are going to do too. I have high hopes in Narrative and I will be waiting for the launch of the page. Great post and information, greetings!

Thanks

Hello, very grateful for such good information; As you say, healthy competition is always good because it will very likely force Steemit to improve its platform or its rewards mechanism, where quality is really valued. Well, I'd like that. I do believe that Narrative has a great opportunity to be successful in the social network.

Thanks😁

I can easily see another platform take Steemit's crown, because Steemit is lacking so many basic functions and is pretty unstable at times. Any company coming in with a better concept and better service could win the crowed.

I am sure that Steemit will be better with competition...

I think so too :) Let the fight begin :)

All they have to do is make their solution usable by normals and they should do well when it comes to poaching beginners on Steemit, and grabbing new users looking at the two options. If it is as convoluted and messy as Steemit, meh, swings and roundabouts.

@cicbar Congratulations! This post has been chosen to be featured in THE RED LAMBO PIT STOP. Check out the post here.

Keep on providing excellent content for the Steemit community and use #redlambo for another chance to be featured.

~ @redlambo
"Lamboing your content to the moon!"

I hate ICOs. Feel they are scammy. Steemit did not ico.

Some companies need to raise money through ICO to achieve goals...

@cicbar - No I have not heard of Narrative. Steemit was the pioneer, now comes the competitors! It is only a matter of time before more platforms show up. Now, minnows like myself will have to decide- Do I stay on here a platform that I'm just getting used to & go with the new guy?

I think not-unless this Narrative proves to have something Steemit doesn't.

  • Steemit has a large, growing user base (over 700K, last I heard)
  • Steemit already has the Blog, Dtube, Dsound, eSteem, and other ways to post & get noticed.
  • Narrative doesn't have any of those things to my knowledge.

I think I'll stick with Steemit.... upvoted! Great post.

Thanks :-) I like Steemit, it has huge advantage and future will tell if Narrative will be serious competitor...

in my country the republic of Indonesia especially in Aceh province, steemit is booming. almost 60% of Acehnese youth are already familiar with steemit. in Indonesia is generally being introduced steemit by @levycore and iqabargo as the curator

Looking forward to it.

Thank you for informing the community about Narrative. I just skimmed through the narrative whitepaper. To me it felt a mixer of Steemit and Facebook though they have a comparison inside their whitepaper. For Narrative to overcome Steemit's large user base and popularity, it has to attract Steemit newbie users who are most likely to move to a new platform with better rewards and a potential to be a 'Whale'.

You are right. If they are smart, they gonna take best from Steemit and Facebook and be successful.

They also need to support and promote user made apps like Dtube, Busy, Dmania etc. These apps are quite popular now-a-days. So, if they get proper attention from Narrative they may spin up a copy of them on Narrative platform.

Agree...

I would say if it does it will surprise me. They need to come up with a great incentive. Thanks

Congratulations @cicbar! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Do i say this is a welcome development? No one knows what the future holds actually.

That's true

Will be interesting to see how the Vice airdrop works with Steem. If there's going to be more like that, it makes it more worthwhile to buy Steem. Then people might as well power up and use it. If it pushes up the price of Steem and SBD, the amount we can make here increases. There's no reason why Narrative can't work as well but it will probably take a few years to get going. Steem went through a long period of time when the price was very low.

I think narrative is an ICO where use Blockchain sistem in his projects.
Then open presale for anyone to invest digital asset so when presale round closed or in other word ICO open the token Will distributed into wallet
Ia that right?
Please correction my opinion

You get tokens in NEON wallet right after you invest in ICO.

Iheard about the narrative from you. I have no prior knowledge of narrative, but intend to give it a try. Yes, there is always a gap, but the matter is who will fill that gap. Narrative or for that matter any other social networking site can become succesful. Or even it can lead.

SVAKA CAST LEGENDO!!!!
p.s ako bi mi ikako mogao pomoci sa malom donacijom dosta bi mi znacilo

HVALA TI LEGENDO OD SRCA! NAJISKRENIJE HVALA!!! OBECAVAM DA CU TI SE ODUZITI ZAISTA NE MOGU VJEROVATI! HVALA HVALA HVALA

Ne treba ništa da se odužiš. Drago mi je ako sam ti malo pomogao.
Pozdrav :-)

Hvala 😁 poslao sam ti malu donaciju.Upotrebi je za botove da napreduješ lakše i da ti postovi budu čitaniji.
Pozdrav

wow, that is great news for us.........
I personally Invest some money in this ICO.
Go ahead .........

I have invested also. Look interesting to me...

Nice post!

yes, it's really a nice post

Competition is always healthy in macro economics. Success depends on what the company offers to members. Narrative can challenge any social network as steemit.

Be that as it may, on the off chance that you think Steemit enables to everybody to pick who you need to vote or not, it is feasible for newcomers like me to simply investigate the 'new' stream and vote the post of different newcomers like me. We are not compelled to vote the 'bigges ones in the pool'. The power is in our grasp, and the newcomers are the greater part ;)

Thank you very much for the information is very interesting, I think I need to read the white paper later.

By the way I'll follow you.

Greetings from MéxicoThank

Thanks :-)

Congratulations @cicbar! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

I would like to check this one out once it gets up and running. Doesn't sound much different than Steemit.

Right!
As what the saying goes "What you sow is what you reap"
You have to work hard in order to harvest the fruit of success in what ever you do.
Same with the Narrative, they're still on the process of sowing.....

Im glad i looked in to this. A competition of steemit would be healthy.

wow a competitor. I think this will build steemit more.

Competition is always good. Leads to a push push push.

It seems to me good that there is healthy competition for steemit

I think that also

good for us that competition.

Nothing is impossible, but Narrative will have to have something really unique to get ahead of Steemit.

I'm of the belief that we need more, not less, in this space. Steemit is great, amazing, revolutionary, and we need stuff like it. Wouldn't mind seeing a dozen networks that do this, as long as they're open networks with api's I can take advantage of, I'm a happy camper.

Agree :-)

Agree. When Narrative start we will see how is working. Now with whitepaper only we can only assume...

One thing I hope narrative does well is making signup for the public a little easier. Steem's three to five day approval process is for the birds. It's the only thing I dislike about the network, but it's a point of pain that could be easily remedied.

I absolutely agree with you.
steemit Competition It's not easy.
I generally think that there will never be
Another analog, steemit.

I think there's more than enough demand out there for multiple monetized content generation platforms like narrative of steem. If it turns out that narrative is a real thing, and I can use the software and api, I will. If not, this is probably the last I'll think of it. Slick animated websites making big promises don't do it for me in terms of enthusiasm. I need to have something in my hands I can play with. When/if there's ever a way to make a valid comparison between the two offerings, I'll do it. Right now, it's hot air. I work in software, I know hot air, trust me.

Hey, Do you think its worth it to HODL Bitcoin at the moment? Followed you too

Thanks. I believe in BTC, just don't expect quick money anytime soon.

Nice

very interesting your subject, every day you learn a little more I'll be waiting for more .. greetings

thanks for sharing this post.

Lol

Upvote and follow you

Very interesting, I will be sure to check it out, please keep us updated. Thanks @cicbar!

You welcome

Good luck to them!

A bit of competition might do Steemit some good.

Not got the active users as steemit....but then again we'll have to wait and see like you said competitiveness between organisations has brought alot amazing innovations throughout history; look at apple and microsoft for an obvious example (IBM was also involved I believe)

I remember and old saying that my grandma used to tell me,

"too many ICO's spoil the broth"

A very wise woman indeed.

nice post...

Have competition just can have progress, ideas are better experience and service in the competition.

There are 2 pages
Pages