Sort:  

Moral of the story... if you don't hold it you don't own it... Never trust your crypto on any exchange. As another note I didn't feel NEM deserved its top 10 position and it may never see the top 10 again.

Nailed it.. If you don't hold your private keys, you're just praying someone else is responsible enough for you.

The main problems with the current global financial system is debt and trust in others who honestly don't deserve that trust. Hopefully cryptos will fix both these massive problems!

I think the other problem for people is simply understanding the technology, and what they're actually invested in. There is a very real minimum amount of technological understanding you have before you even enter the market (if you're smart), and there's a very real minimum amount of technological understanding that bars you from actually being able to effectively research anything in the crypto marketplace...let alone secure it.

I learned early on as part of my research, you should always have control of your wallets and private keys. Centralized Exchanges are vulnerable to attacks from a number of sources and these attackers are incentivized to attack as they have concentrated sources of assets to take with one attack.

Most people have gotten into the game after Mount Gox and Cryptsy, but a quick google search will tell you everything you need to know about why you need to control your private keys in cold storage.

thnx for keeping me aware of the market update

https://www.zerohedge.com/news/2018-01-26/over-400-million-stolen-hacked-japanese-cryptocurrency-exchange Gives a bit more insight I also find this quote quite funny
"This is the biggest theft in the history of the world,"

I consider what Bitconnect did as theft so IMO that quote you stated isn't technically accurate... 3+ billion market cap... and it's gone!

I find market cap to be a bit misleading as it is only an extrapolation of current price. That doesn't mean you can actually sell everything and get that amount of money or that is how much money is actually invested.

Bitconnect is a separate issue and yes most of the community would agree this was clearly a fraud and as soon as the bitcoin price crashed they started unwinding the scheme as they could no longer pay "investors"

This is why I am rethinking my positions in coins that are not compatible with a hardware wallet. It makes long term investing in some of these alt coins difficult. Unfortunately I have to include my beloved Moreno in this population.

Can't stress enough about safety got to have two-factor Authentication like they say some people have to learn the hard way steam on

They hacked the exchange not the user from what I understand so 2factor prob didn't help. That being said it is still a mandatory security practice to user in all cases.

OMG! This really really bad news for crypto currency miners. I got a shock by this news. Crypto coins value may be down because of unsecured exchange and centralize system.

useful sharing

OMG.. Wallets are also not safe now a days???
That's very bad and sad news..

Get a hardware or cold storage wallet...

Ok bro.. what about paper wallet?

I still don`t understand what a paper wallet is (only in crypto for couple weeks), but I bought a Nano S and I kinda like it.

I would only buy from the company, not a third party, but thats easy for me to say, i guess, because im in Europe and Ledger is too.

Bro I am also new in crypto, that is why i am worried after reading your blog, thanks for sharing this greatly important blog

I just noticed this from Jim Rickards on Twitter, good one !

Wow great video !!!

Oh my God! So much dollars have been hacked. Will not any action be taken against it?

Muchas gracias por la información

This is exactly why I only now use Binance. They have a better reputation but if you're going to have alot of money than hardware wallet is the way to go. Robinhood app should also be alot safer than alot of others

Coins mentioned in post:

CoinPrice (USD)📉 24h📉 7d
BTCBitcoin11003.600$-2.91%-5.17%
ETHEthereum1040.920$-2.64%-0.66%
LTCLitecoin174.494$-3.58%-9.72%
XEMNEM0.845$-10.8%-23.25%

First time reading your articles, I came over from YouTube. Great article, I am looking forward to hearing more about Lightning. Appreciate you time.

What do you think about Exodus or Exodus Eden Wallet? Currently using Exodus Eden, but a bit concerned that its still beta and there's no support.

We need to move to decentralized exchanges. Bobby, check out neon exchange. I just did a review on upcoming ico. Check it out if you have time. Thanks brotha

https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@nycryptotalk/nex-neon-exchange-review-watchlist-ico-for-2018

what hacked ... what about steemit .. is it secure? @cryptobobby

Do you really thing this is real bro🤔
I have my doubts 😏

What are you thoughts on the increased centralization that is likely to happen on LN, due upfront cost of channels?

Great article, thanks for the heads up!

Post very good for me,thanks..🤗🤗🤗🤗
https://steemit.com/indonesia/@n17am/tips-to-whitening-the-face-ini-1-week-07e91e7c4345c
Please upvote me..thanks..