Sort:  

That was a session worth watching... Information packed.

I've a huge problem with the current market situation: Coins less than one Dollar. Why? Because people buy them like crazy. Take a look at CoinMarketCap. You have anyway a tab open ;) and scroll down the list. The most gainers are all Coins which are or were a week ago <1$. Here are some examples: Ripple, Cardano, NEM, Tron, Stellar, Verge ...

Why this is a problem in my opinion? There a lot of new people in the space that don't understand that price is as unimportant as the name of a coin.

Here's an example with IOTA. The price you see on CMC is in MIOTA (Mega IOTA, which are 1.000.000 IOTA). Imagine CMC would show you the price for one KIOTA (1.000 IOTA) which would be around 0.004$ or for one GIOTA (1.000.000.000 IOTA) which would be ~4000$. That are huge price jumps but it doesn't matter! The value for IOTA itself stays the same. The only thing that matters is the market cap, which is a combination of price and supply.

The newbies wanna catch the new BTC and imagine/hope their coin can go up to the same price as BTC. I have this opinion because I read more often stuff like: "Ripple to 100$???" or "ADA to the mooooon 1000$!!!!" which makes me wanna cry. (These are just two randomly picked examples, I don't dislike these coins). That means that they would be at a many TRILLION USD market cap. Probably in ten years if everything goes perfect. But I see 95% of them crashing again as people realise they are overvalued. At least I hoped so. BUT I also didn't see XRP ever reach 1$ and here we are at nearly 4$. So I might be wrong, no one can see into the future. I just want to point out that the price is irrelevant and that it scares me so many people don't get it.

Yeah, I think people are without a doubt looking at top 100 coins and putting money into them without reading up on them. I think the same is true of STEEM unfortunately. People don't like hearing this because obviously we're all invested in STEEM, but the truth is, people are throwing money at everything and seeing what sticks. Does anyone believe someone who buys a stake in 30 coins is reading all the whitepapers? Keeping up with the news? FUD and FOMO can affect prices to an insane degree. All people need to read is a tweet or a reddit comment and they'll put $500 on it. I think people probably look at the transaction count for STEEM and say "Hey, that coin's pretty cheap, I should get some." Then they never even look at the plaltform. It just sits in an exchange. The whole situation is troubling.

To be clear, I think STEEM is very valuable. The transaction count is a good demonstration of its value, but being a living working product is a much more important factor, and if people investing in it aren't aware of that, they're not going to have as strong of hands during dips as they should.

I echo this all the time.. It's not the price per coin, its the market cap. But noobies don't currrr

I can see Cardano reaching and even surpassing the marketcap of Bitcoin Cash. Is a more valuable coin for the long term, IMHO

Love your crypto happy hours. It's awesome that you actually engage with your viewers and answer questions real time. I am always learning something new about crytpocurrencies when watching you. Thanks for sharing! Looking forward to more crypto bobby videos in 2018!

Thank you, interacting with everyone is pretty much my favorite part of all of this. So glad you enjoy it!

the happiest of hours

Never a bad hour when you're drinking Macallan

Great choice!

" will ETH hit $1,000? "

It did and $1115 is the next resistance.

it's cuz you can't trust 'em!

Well, Cardano is a real crypto coin, whereas Stellar and Ripple are marketing stunts. But hey, whatever makes you happy. I got rid of the bank coins and put my money into ADA.

Stop clouding the issue with facts, just focus on the feelings and emotions.

2018 will be the year of the altcoins!

Absolutely, No second thoughts about that

I never thought a fidget spinner could have so much popularity!

Doubt, personally i think most of these alt-coins are just fueled by people buying in on them following news they see on Social media hoping they will follow in BTC footsteps. Guaranteed 60% don't even know what the difference is between all the coins. Time for a Beer :P

Bitcoin price is waiting to take a blast off. Along with Ltc

Some of them will last for a long time because a good tech idea like ripple that is allready on the run and is being used world wide.
Soon ripple will pass bitcoin in its market cap.
Many alts will fall because they dont have any tech to back their idea.

Litecoin and Ethereum.. Lite because of its compatibility with Bitcoin via Atomic swap and ethereum and lite again for fast transaction speeds which also make quicker to mine. Market cap is 86 million on Litecoin.

Cardano is great. My picks for the future are Cardano and Powerledger. :)

Grab ADA asap, it's about to skyrocket.
Prediction $5 till 31st Jan 2018

Can ADA pass Etherium by ranking in 2018?

ADA has a strong technology behind it, but I don't think that it can surpass ETH by 2018. It can surpass but not in 2018

Most alts are in their infancy and what might seem a huge sum or evaluation now will look like a joke in years to come. How much is google and facebook worth again? And Mark Zuckerberg talking about trying to see the possibility of incorporating cryptos unto his beloved fb further lends credence to my sentiments.

Think about it more like this: someone actually bought 2 pizzas with 10,000 bitcoins less than 10 years ago. Crazy right?

Interesting? Good to know!!

I really liked your article. I'm going to follow you because I like the Bitcoins theme. When you have some time I invite you to read my latest publication

It's been a great start of the year for alt coins.

i think they will and keep up the videos my man :D

Hello My Friends
My Name Memed ,I was From Aceh province indonesia
Nice to know you all

alts have more rooms to go higher while BTC consolidate

ok, little by little I understand, thanks

I think stellar max will be 1$

The smart way to run a company is to have no employees.

Saya sangat menyukai postingan anda

yes because there are diverging fundamentals. Bitcoin fees too high and realistically ripply and stellar are the only ones trying to actively pursue a real world agenda. The fact that stellar is inflationary is a huge bonus in the cancerous deflationary sphere that is crypto.

I think Altcoins will surge and increase crypto marketcap in 2018 and coming years. Because lot of coins or blockchain like XRP, Steem, EOS and ADA have real world use cases. XRP is already being used by many banks and financial orgs.

My question is : Can XRP or ETH or ADA or other Altcoins surpass Bitcoin market cap?
In my opinion Bitcoin is on top of list right now just because it was Pioneer but altcoins have better future as they have use cases... thoughts?

No I don't think so, it's too early

Crypto hype!

This world of cryptomoney has me totally fascinated, I am very excited to be part of this great community. Excellent post, thanks for sharing

Does feel like an open bar at the moment but I expect to see some profit taking and hedging soon as I have done so myself :D

Ripple to moon !

My alts are doing great, hoping tron continues its run.

The Cryptocurrency Total Market Cap will Be over $1 Trillion (1,000,000,000) Very Soon! Now is the time! Exponential Increases and Mass Adoption will Slowly but surely take place! Get Ready for A crazy Ride Folks!

Thank you for letting us learn crypto.. I am one of the newbies, and little by little I am learning.. unfortunately, I just sold my xrp at 25% and ada at 20% growth.. should have hodl it longer..