I posted 52 comments in one day - The Results

I was recently inspired by a post I read by @taskmaster4450, I’ll link it here:

https://steemit.com/steem/@taskmaster4450/i-made-usd230-in-7-days-just-from-posting-comments-on-steem-you-can-too

The title is self explanatory, I have noticed as a new Steemit user that I have made more money from commenting compared to posting, so I wanted to see what my experience would be like if I spent a day solely commenting.

Now there is way too much spam on Steemit already, and I do not wish to add to this. I looked at many posts throughout the day and set myself a goal of posting 50 relevant and (hopefully) insightful comments on posts that I found of interest.

The Results
In my day of commenting, I was able to initiate a genuine dialogue on 19/52 (~36%) of my comments. I achieved success in two forms:

Followers
This was most important for me, my follower count increased by 8, which was a 13% increase. Not bad for one day right?

To me this is not just a number on a screen, yesterday I remember having interesting conversations with at least 6 of these new followers who are like minded and I feel on the same wavelength as me.

Cash monies
Here is a summary of the payouts across my posts, 19 votes achieving a total SBD value of $3.56.

Over USD 10 for a day of intermittent commenting from an account that is less than a month old.

Final thoughts
On Steemit you can’t be the awkward guy in the corner, you have to get out there and start a conversation. Build a dialogue with someone, make some friends.

In that aspect I see Steemit is working as intended, you are rewarded for posting insightful comments that help to build the narrative and spam comments are relegated to the bottom of the comments sections. I appreciate there is abuse on both ends of the spectrum but no platform is perfect, and there are many people who are continuously fighting the good fight against scammers/spammers.

In addition, I also started to follow more people yesterday. Again given the monetary awards on Steemit, it is an attractive platform to spam low effort/plagiarised content. This is a big downside for Steemit in my opinion, as it becomes much more difficult to kind engaging content. I believe you really have to work on curating your own feed, so you don't have to rely on trawling through the "new" section of tags to find quality content.

Once you have a solid set of authors to follow, your feed is all you need!

What has your experience been posting/commenting? What tips can you share? Can we chat?

Sort:  

Your post was resteem by Whale ResteemService @booster007 & @boostupvote
Resteem Over 10,200+ Followers

Keep it up!
All the best!

Send 0.100 SBD/steem For resteem over 4300+ followers / send 0.200 SBD/steem resteem over 10,200+ Follwers Send your link in memo ! @boostupvote Attached !

ive added you and had you added for a while and now checking in. Hope you are doing good. Give me a post here and there :) UPvoted!

Yes you were one of my earliest follows!

Will drop you some posts soon, don’t be a stranger!

I found this interesting. I'm in no way going to make my millions on Steemit as I simply don't have the time. I find time to connect, time, to post, time to read... for a busy housewife, artist, writer... it's a lot of time I can't find right now. That said, after my son @mobbs introduced me to Steemit (he has/makes the time) I find it a wonderful platform. I try to post at least once per day, whether people look or not. I enter contests, #constrainedwriting run by @svashta weekly is my favourite, I do try to read at least more than 10 posts per day and comment accordingly. I can't stand the one-liner "Nice photo" or one I got when posting about attempting my driving test again aged 56 "If you come to india. You will surly pass for first attemp." !! Not helpful - but at least he read it.
I have to be honest and say that I haven't got a huge clue as to the ins and outs but I will continue to write, share, read, reply and of course - for my small worth - upvote. Thank you for the extra insight and advice/knowledge. I may put it to good use on quieter days. :) Followed, resteemed and upvoted

Welcome! I agree with this, I don’t think you have to make an arbitrary amount of time for Steemit but make Steemit work around your current schedule!

I too get very frustrated with the constant one liner comments and the begging for upvotes but I try to ignore it.

As someone toying with giving this a try I found the post and your reply - given you don't have "a huge clue as to the ins and outs" but certainly a better one than I do - helpful. I can produce decent content but would only consider doing so if I thought there was a prospect of its being seen (and earning the odd penny). The commenting ruse sounds like a interesting way forward while getting started. What are these contests of which you speak? I'll look into them myself but any thoughts you have on that kind of thing would be appreciated. Power to your elbow - I'll be giving you a follow, if only to find out how you got on in India with your driving test. :o)

India...driving test... 🤣 I'd forgotten about that. As far as contests are concerned there are many in most subjects. Choose your field and search "contests". If you find one you like follow and enter ... simple as that. #constrainedwriting is run by @svashta but I enter poetry ones too. There are art, photography, music... all sorts. Most of them give you prizes in the form of Steem, SP and such, plus you get noticed by other entrants and followers. So a good way to move onto the platform. There's a huge cryptocoin input which (though it shouldn't) bores me to tears but if you're into that its a way to make money. Those posts usually get massive payouts. Otherwise just do what you like to do, youll get pleasure from that and payouts and recognition come in time. Follow @mobbs for a lot of interesting info and curation. You'll find your way. Its definitely a "how much you put in" deal on here. So its up to you where you take it. Good luck.

Thanks for the helpful tips, all of which - not least the contests - I'll be following up on. If it really is a case of "how much you put in" that's great news. I was getting the feeling it might be "who you know" or "how much CASH you put in". A combination of all three, perhaps. I'd picked up on the crypto thing, though I'd assumed it was just the big hitters who were attracting the big bucks. Fortunately, unlikely candidate though I was, it's an area that's come to fascinate me strangely, so even though I'm no expert maybe after trying the commenting strategy for a week or two I'll start with a half-jokey 'My first three months of crypto', see if anyone's biting. Investigating the mysteries of Steem (same as Steem dollars?) and SP (which I know must be Steem Power) are my next job, however. I assume these are key to how those who make the really decent money do so. All good fun. Thanks again - really helpful to hear your thoughts - and good luck to your own eandeavours.

There's a lot of posts on layman's steemit ... might be worth a search

You've confused me. This is not someone on Steemit with the handle @layman it seems, so who or what?

LOL sorry it's not a person - I meant 'in layman's terms'... ie not technical but in a way the general, average person can understand without all of the technical knowledge.

hahaha! I'm over the 'nice photo' and 'great post!"

Thank you for posting that link and for sharing your opinion. I am still new here and my experience has also been that posting blogs gets me nowhere. However, commenting on blogs by people that upvote you is the best method for payout.
I am sharing here a link to a blog by a very generous dolphin, you will do well to follow him.
https://steemit.com/steemit/@tolkatore/use-your-steem-power-or-lose-it-so-why-you-being-so-cheap-authors

Maybe you will share one of yours. Thanks

Ha interesting, I also follow him and upvote his stuff. I’ve noticed a lot of people just don’t upvote his post and jump straight to the comments looking for an upvote.

May I ask what you do with your earnings? I’ve read some of your pieces and they’re well written, I like your style. I haven’t withdrawn anything so far as I am trying to grow as fast as I can.

I am converting SBDs to Steem. It is possible, though not yet likely that SBD will be dropped to a lower figure +/-$1
Allocations are at 50/50
Thank you for reading my posts, as you can see you are one of the people I follow. I can’t follow too many. I try to keep the number below 30.

Nice job! People under estimate the power of interaction. About a month back or so. I made multiple comments on a post, giving health tips. The author gave a 100% upvote to each comment (over 2 sbd) and I made about $60 usd from that thread.

Thx for that quite informative post. Keep up with creating interesting content.
I know it's hard at the beginning to build solid follower base. But just don't give up. Steemits needs solid content builders.

Already followed and upvoted :) Cheers,