Is Monero Undervalued or Overvalued?

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago (edited)

First, let's look at the facts:

  • It is currently the only coin in the market with full anonymity. No coin has the level of privacy of Monero.
  • It has a current circulating supply of only  14,883,938 XMR, less than Bitcoin's 16,487,100 BTC
  • It is currently the 10th largest coin with a market cap of  $654,570,559

Issues and why it may be undervalued right now:

  • The majority of people still think Bitcoin and other coins are anonymous even though it has been proven they aren't. The majority of people also do not care about full anonymity since they already use Google and Facebook every day.
  • Lack of wallets, including a mobile one
  • People are looking for short-term returns instead of long-term
  • UI is not user friendly. Official app is sluggish

Long-term potential:

  • Mass adoption in the dark web due to Monero's unrivaled anonymity.
    • The number of dark web users are only increasing. More people are using the dark web to purchase untaxed goods.
  • Every day more people are becoming more aware of how much companies and governments store information about them.
  • Hardware wallet support, mobile wallets, more exchanges offering Monero would increase adoption


What are your thoughts on the future of Monero?

-CryptoCouch


Sort:  

I've been mining Monero for a while now. Small payouts so far, but I'm hoping it will continue to increase in value. Thanks for posting. It's encouraging to read good news about a currency I'm holding.

I thought Zcash was anonymous. Is it not completely private?

Zcash has something that's called "selective disclosure" capabilities, which allows Zcash to flag suspicious transactions. It is also AML compliant which means it meets anti-money laundering regulations. Zcash also has a partnership with JPMorgan, America's largest bank. And we all know the banksters are the real assholes of the world.
This makes Zcash still a good option for honest people, but lets face it, a decent portion of today's cryptocurrency is used for dishonest transactions.

I see, that's something I did not know. Thanks for that.

I agree with that last sentence...I wonder if that means Monero is headed for the BTC like growth.

Monero has a really bright future I had some before the bitcoin fork but I sold it to maximize my BCH return.

I am Groot! :D