Lucky 8 Lesser Known Alt Coins I think will see Nice Post Dip Gains!

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago

Welcome to my 3rd steemit entry and my first step out of my comfort zone.

Crypto predictions can make a fool of you but these 8 Alt Coins I am very excited about heading into February and the rest of the year. I am sure these coins will do me a solid and perform once we get to the end of whats been a very tough January for crypto lovers.

So before I unveil my 8, full disclosure I am by no means a Financial/Crypto guru and if you are reading my ongoing Tales from my Crypt posts you will know I have only been in the game since November last year.

I do not have a you tube channel and I by design have no social media presence other than my Steemit account. So you have to be on Steemit to get my tips! how lucky do you feel right now? Hopefully a lot luckier this time next month when I have some runs on the board.

Now, these 8 are a result of all my own research and naturally I have either already invested in or intend to invest in these myself. (Wanchain is on the intend to invest list as I missed the ICO and I am kicking myself. I really have to start paying more attention to upcoming ICO's).

My approach to describing the coins will always be in a lighter way that hopefully makes it easy for the average guy or girl to understand. Or at least as easy I can possibly make it, some of these Alt coins are tricky to explain.

I spend a lot of time researching my facts, checking and double checking them to ensure I only provide good information.
Will I go deep inside the technology of these coins?
No, so if you find yourself interested in any of these after reading my post please do your own research before you decide to invest any money into them

I HODL %90 of the coins I buy and these 8 I intend to hold throughout 2018. This is not to say they won’t enjoy some strong gains in the short term so they certainly could still be of interest to the short term investors amongst you.
Most of them are significantly down on their all time highs right now so could offer some great profit once this big dip on all the Alt Coins clears.

In regards to the dip, the last couple of days have been a lot more positive and although we are still in a post crash period, a lot of what I am reading in crypto currencies is giving me confidence we are starting the climb back. So much confidence I decided I would write one of these.

If I peak your interest make sure you check out these coins website’s for yourself before investing and always skim-through I mean read those whitepapers.

Ok, my personal guide (by no means hard rules) for buying coins are:

1: Have a great idea behind them. I want interesting coins that have a genuine use and solve a real world problem.

2: Have a Market Cap under 1 billion. I want to see lots of room to grow and if the Market Cap is over a billion I feel I am already late to the party

3: Total supply under 1 billion and Circulating supply under 500 million is preferable. The lower the better.

4: Have a nice website! This is not a deal breaker but obviously a professional well laid out site helps build my confidence in them. I also like to see the team behind the coin shown on the site. I want to see lots of developers,
I also want to see guys with runs on the board. Experience working on other successful coins or major tech companies etc all of this invokes confidence.

5: Lastly when I have a coin that fits the above bill I do some final digging for what others think and for media on it (preferably positive). I also do a last search for any dirt on the coin I might of missed but I am more after that assurance that I am not the only one that loves this coin!
I am still fairly new in the game after all, so a bit of extra confidence never hurts before I put my hard earned into it.

Now, I won't take the easy option and say I am not ranking them in any particular order but there is seriously not a lot between them as far as my interest in them goes. They all really excite me.

So here we go:

8: Deep Brain Chain (DBC)

terminatro

What Deep Brain Chain's Logo should be

DBC

The real logo

Current Price: 0.14 USD. 0.18c AUD

All time High Price: 0.64 USD.

Market Cap: $134,043,300

Total Supply: 10,000,000,000

Circulating Supply: 900,000,000

Why I like it: DBC is a mine able coin with a large total supply. Total supply like that is not generally what I am looking for but it’s not about the numbers with this one.
I am just excited by the coin itself and at the end of the day, what the coin does is the most important thing.

DBC is the first AI coin for the blockchain and a Bloomberg article I read predicted AI technology will add 15.7 Trillion to the world economy within the next decade! Crazy.
I guess that means this coin has the potential to make crazy money for us all until 2028 when Skynet takes over.

So there is going to be serious money in AI over the next decade and the blockchain is also predicted to see huge growth as it becomes more mainstream. Heck even the Dallas mavericks are going to be accepting Bitcoin soon!
So a coin that delivers AI on the blockchain is a match made in heaven provided of course the coin itself can deliver.

Now if you can understand and fully comprehend everything in the DBC whitepaper then please stay safe. The resistance is going to need you when our AI enslavement begins.

To summarise in simple terms as best I can, DBC wants to bring AI to the blockchain to help solve the problem
of the huge amount of computing power AI models use. It will lower the cost of training said AI models and already has a successful working product.

DBC has a partnership with the hugely successful NEO team who themselves have invested $1 million into the project. DBC already lists Microsoft, Siemens, Samsung and Huawei amongst others as clients.

To be honest this coin had me at first mention of AI. What will humans achieve with AI in my life time?
What changes to the way we live will AI bring? How far will it go? The idea that we could create real AI fascinates me!
However if I am going to be able to afford my own personal walking talking robot I am going to need to make money so this is definitely a coin I am happy to invest in now and HODL.

It will be really exciting to follow this coin through 2018 and beyond however I have placed it in 8th spot as I do not see gains as quickly on this one as I do the other 7. However when it comes to Alt Coins you can never really know for sure.

Exchanges: Huobi, Gate.io and Kucoin.

7: Airswap (AST)

air

Current Price: 0.89 USD. $1.11 AUD

All time High Price: $1.93 USD

Market Cap: $133,894,050 USD

Total Supply: 500,000,000

Circulating Supply: 150,000,000

Why I like it: Airswap aims to be a decentralised exchange. There is a lot of interest in the decentralised exchanges at the moment with all the recent headlines of threats by countries to ban crypto currency exchanges in their country.

We already have decentralised exchanges in operation like Poloniex Bit Square and Ether Delta to name a few.

Where Airswap will differ to the them is it won’t be using a public order book. It will instead employ a private order book off the chain which improves security for its users.

There is going to be a greater need for these types of exchanges going forward as governments in some countries threaten to shut down centralised exchanges. There has been a lot of noise about this coming from major countries like China and Sth Korea lately and this has no doubt played a huge role in the dip we currently find ourselves in.

As far as decentralised exchanges go Airswap is competing in a heavily populated field. Is it going to be a leader of decentralised exchanges? I don’t know.

What I do know is that I like the team they have behind them. I believe there is going to be a lot more money to go around in this space in the near future and I think the current 89c USD price for Airswap is terrific value.
I also like the fact it has a low circulating supply of only 150,000,000. It already has an all time high price of $1.93 so plenty of space for that price to move up.

I think this is the right coin, in a growing space at the right point in time. As interest in decentralised exchanges increases so will its value and I will be holding onto this one in expectation of new all time high prices as this year unfolds. I really think the Risk/Reward makes this coin worth a spot in your Alt Folio.

Exchanges: Binance, Liqui, Huobi, Ether Delta

6: Atlant (ATL)

atlant

Current Price: 0.87 USD. $1.09 AUD

All time High Price: $2.67 USD

Market Cap: $11,605,939 USD

Total Supply: 54,175,041

Circulating Supply: 13,225,026

Why I like it: Aims to bring real estate to the blockchain with two main features - tokenised real estate Ownership and Peer-to-Peer rentals.

It aims to bring tenants and lessor’s together with significantly reduced fees and eliminates the need for various middlemen.

It also aims to solve a problem in the real estate world of significantly reducing the possibility of fake reviews and forged ratings which is seen a lot in the industry. If you stay in Airbnb’s regularly you will know exactly what I mean.

As the blockchain grows it is only natural that the Real Estate World comes on board as well. I like that Atlant is not only getting in early but also has a great website and an impressive team behind it.

My main interest in it stems basically from the fact the Real Estate Industry will always exist whether its buying & selling, renting, Airbnb etc.

The blockchain is not going anywhere either. There is always going to be a lot of money in the real estate space and bringing it to the blockchain seems a natural evolution.

At only 87c USD a coin, Atlant is a very affordable investment.
It has a really low circulating supply of 13,225,026 and a market cap of only 11.6 million USD so immense room for growth. That low circulating supply plus an all time high of $2.67 gives it great value for short term holders as well.

Exchanges: Hitbtc, Ether delta, Mercatox

5: Appcoins (APPC)

appc

Current Price: $1.35 USD. $1.69 AUD

All time High Price: $4.25 USD

Market Cap: $135,511,559 USD

Total Supply: 246,203,093

Circulating Supply: 100,054,312

Why I like it: Appcoins aims to be a solution for purchasing digital content via apps and games.
Appc wants to combine blockchain technology with app technology to make it faster and more secure.

The global App industry it estimated to be worth 77 billion dollars and is continually growing.
Millions of apps now exist and there are billions of smartphones worldwide downloading them every day.
If APPC can offer a solution to a problem and assist with app innovation it will be in high demand and be very lucrative.

I like the prospect of a coin starting out in a booming industry like this and bringing a blockchain solution to it.
Where this coin could end up, what this coin could achieve and what it could one day be worth is very exciting to think about.

Exciting as it is it will no doubt encounter a lot of competition in this space so certainly has a fair share of risk attached to it. At $1.35 USD a coin it is a risk I am willing to take and I see it as a great investment opportunity especially if you are willing to HODL it.

Market Cap only 135.5 mill and low circulating supply only further screams growth opportunity.
It already has an all time high of $4.25 to its name so at its current price also offers great value for short term traders.

Exchanges: Binance, Huobi

4: UTRUST (UTK)

utrust

Current Price: 0.50 USD. 0.62 AUD

All time High Price: $1.34 USD

Market Cap: $102,488,882 USD

Total Supply: 500,000,000

Circulating Supply: 204,085,908

Why I like it: Utrust aim to provide a secure crypto currency payment platform by bringing the benefits of payment services like what Paypal offer to the blockchain.

As the name indicates it aims to be the safest crypto payment platform in the world.

Using services like Paypal has high fees due to exchange rates and can be slow.
Utrust will allow buyers to send funds to a seller anywhere in the world safely and for a low fee (%1).

Buyer converts currency to UTrust coin. Utrust Coin then goes anywhere in the world to seller. Seller then converts Utrust coin back to their own currency.

So UTrust has a great real world application and as the blockchain grows people’s trust in using companies that are on the blockchain will to.

Basically UTrust will be able to do what PayPal does a whole lot better and cheaper using the blockchain.
So I like the concept and I really like the numbers. It only has a circulating supply of 204 million with a max total supply of 500 million. Market cap is only at 102 million and at a price of only 50c USD a coin it seems a steal!

Its not all roses though and there must be reason it is still such a cheap coin despite all it has going for it. (A reason other than the dip reason)

It has experienced some FUD since coming out of ICO but nothing I would regard as too serious. All coins experience FUD at some point so that is not a major concern of mine.

Their roadmap shows Q4 2018 as their plan for when 200+ Merchants will come on board and live transactions begin. That's exciting and all, but still a long wait to see how the product performs in the real world and that's a lot of time for competitors to emerge.

Once they do start live trading it will also take time to win over customers who are used to using Paypal like services.
However, that is not a big concern of mine considering the money that is up for grabs in this space.
In the 3rd quarter alone of 2017 PayPal processed 1.9 billion payments. So even if UTrust obtain a small % of that pie its value will increase dramatically and so will confidence in their brand from users and investors alike.

The main question I ask myself and the reason I don't have it in my top 3 is:
If the blockchain allows UTrust to develop a payment system that is so much superior to PayPal then surely PayPal themselves will bring out their own coin on the blockchain at some point. Why wouldn't they considering their strong brand recognition. I can't imagine they will just let 1.9 billion payments a quarter leave them for the blockchain without
making some moves themselves.

So I will stop short of declaring UTrust the PayPal of the blockchain but I am still excited by their concept and their price.

Given it is not an expensive investment I think it is a great coin to purchase and HODL. I wouldn’t recommend it so much for a short term trader at this stage but it does have a noteworthy all time high of $1.34 USD.

3: Wanchain (WAN) ICO

wan

Current Price: n/a. Token price was 0.34 USD

All time High Price: n/a

Market Cap: n/a

Total Supply: 210,000,000

Circulating Supply: 107,100,000 (%51 of total supply sold in token sale)

Why I like it: Wanchain is not even on exchanges but I almost can't include it as a lesser known Alt Coin given the hype surrounding it.

The first description I heard for this coin is "bank for the blockchain."

How cool is that? I have no love for banks mind you but I am still intrigued by what this coin is going to bring to the table.

So from what I've researched so far is:

Wanchain can facilitate the exchange of multiple crypto currencies across both the Ethereum and Bitcoin blockchain.
This in itself is kind of a big deal as this is described as having the potential to cross blockchain protocols could help fuel more blockchain adoption by companies. One example I read was companies/organisations could use Wanchain to have their internal intranets on it.

Has been in development for 2 years and has a world class team behind it.

The potential mass commercial adoption is expected to make wanchain's speculative value when it hits the exchanges very high.

Another cool aspect is it will also allow any business or individual to basically be their own sort of crypto bank.
You can basically use Wanchain to create your own “bank” where you can provide your own lending services, credit payments, facilitate their transactions and other bank like services.

Apart from all the commercial applications Wanchain further aims to become a legitimate banking option to the billions (yes it is in the billions) of people worldwide who are not a member of any kind of banking institution.

Pretty bloody exciting coin.

Unsurprisingly it was one of the fastest sell outs of an ICO token ever. Estimates of less than 4 minutes!

That is even more impressive given major crypto buying countries USA, China and South Korea were not allowed to participate in the ICO sales. Customers in those countries are frothing at the mouth waiting for this to hit the Exchanges.
It will only have a very low circulating supply of 107 million and given the demand for this coin if you are interested you will want to pounce quick once exchanges list it.

No confirmed date of release as yet. No confirmed exchanges. The Wanchain team will be attending a big event in San Francisco on 26/1/18 called "Blockchain Evolution Technology in USA & China." Hopefully some announcements come from that.

Exchanges: TBA

2: Dragonchain (DRGN)

dragon

Current Price: $2.37 USD. $2.96 AUD

All time High Price: $5.20 USD

Market Cap: $566,020,838

Total Supply: 433,494,437

Circulating Supply: 238,421,940

Why I like it: Disney has built themselves a blockchain!
It is designed to be a developer friendly platform that will compete with Ethereum.
Apart from the fact they killed Han Solo I love everything about Disney, who doesn't? So naturally seeing this powerful juggernaut competing in the crypto space is exciting.

Business' around the globe are currently spending huge money on blockchain technology and Dragonchain is well placed to cash in on that.
Dragonchain's main purpose is to offer developers the opportunity to join their blockchain platform and supply them with all the tools they need to be successful.

The Disney backing provides Dragonchain all the credibility it needs to successfully recruit developers onto their platform and I have no hesitation in predicting they will be hugely successful at it.

Reliability is not a word I would ever like to use when describing the crypo market given its volatility but this would be one of the more safer bets going around.

Circulating supply of only 238.4 million and Market Cap still only at $533 million USD so loads of room to move north.
At a post dip price of $2.37 USD and an all time high of $5.20 USD this coin is a slam dunk for short term and long term investors.

Exchanges: Kucoin, Ether Delta, Gate, Tidex

1: Nebulas (NAS)

NAS

Current Price: $10.26 USD. $12.80 AUD

All time High Price: $16.29 USD

Market Cap: $364,254,850

Total Supply: 100,000,000

Circulating Supply: 35,500,000

Why I like it: This brings me to the number 1 coin I am excited about for February and the rest of 2018.
Simply put Nebulas aims to be the Google of the blockchain.

They offer to build applications cheaper, faster and more scalable than Ethereum.

Nebulas will then provide a search engine on top of their platform to allow users to find information easier on not just their blockchain, but also everybody else's

The team behind Nebulas is a bit of an all star cast and consist of 2 former NEO founders, Google, IBM and even AirBnB ex employees

The exciting concept combined with the fact there are only 35.5 million circulating coins means the price is already getting up there at $10.26 USD. You actually have the dip to thank for this price as its all time high was less than a month ago at $16.29 USD

There are some pretty lofty predictions doing the rounds about what this price could be later in 2018.
I also believe it will do really well especially once it gets itself on some decent exchanges.

Exchanges: Huobi, Gate

*All above Prices & numbers sourced from coinmarketcap as of 24/1/18 22:00 Australian EDT

By all means if you think the order should change, agree or disagree on any of my calls please let me know in comments. Or if you have a hot tip on another Alt Coin feel free to let me know!

Thanks for reading

drag2

keep chasing that dragon

-Dahmsy

Sort:  

Great article, thanks vm, big fan of Nebulas!

Good share, all of the coins i am currently looking into. Glad to know I'm not alone

Loved it. Always good to read other peoples take on potential coins and you explain them really well.
Look forward to your next Post brother!