The World's Top 10 Cities to Spend Cryptocurrencies ...

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago

bitcoin-3215526_640.jpg

Since I will be traveling soon so I used some time to do a little homework and I found this article about top cities in the world for crypto spending.

According to this news report -

Check Out If You Can Spend Bitcoin Before You Book Your Next Holiday

from other source which has done some research on this topic, the crypto spending friendly cities of the world are ...

Top 10 List

  1. Prague, Czech Republic (154 Venues)
  2. Buenos Aires, Argentina (130 Venues)
  3. San Francisco, USA (111 Venues)
  4. London, UK (102 Venues)
  5. Madrid, Spain (97 Venues)
  6. Arnhem, The Netherlands (86 Venues)
  7. Bogotá, Colombia (85 Venues)
  8. New York, USA (80 Venues)
  9. Vienna, Austria (79 Venues)
  10. Berlin, Germany (77 Venues)

European cities and US cities are no surprises, South American cities are doing well too! To my disappointment, there is no Asian cities top the list. Originally I also thought Tokyo, Seoul or Singapore may appear there... (I know very well that Taipei definitely isn't crypto enough). Well, I will try hard to find some places that accept bitcoin in Tokyo when I travel there...

So far I have done some homework and on my list are :

  • The Pink Cow
  • Ark Akihabara
  • Sushi-Bar Numazuko Ginza 1st
  • BICQLO
  • Hostel bedgasm
    (keeping digging....)

By the way, let me add @kafkanarchy84's comment to my post here too... some overlap but his list is definitely more accurate than what I found on internet...

Two Dogs Taproom, Roppongi. - Foreign owned, English friendly, BTC and BCH accepted. One of my favorite spots!
Sushi-Bar Numazuko Ginza 1st - Great sushi in Ginza, pay with Bitcoin!
Any Bic Camera electronics store should accept Bitcoin, I think.
The Pink Cow in Roppongi. Accepts BCH and Bitcoin. Right across the intersection from Two Dogs, mentioned above.
NEM Bar - Small little bar near Shibuya that accepts all kinds of crypto currencies. TV displays current market prices. Total nerd hang out! Love it.
St. Arnould - Out of the way little place that accepts various crypto’s for food and Belgian beer. Owner is a Japanese guy originally from Nagoya. Very cool cat.
Royal Plaza 2F, 2-13-8 Akasaka

I won't try everyone but I will definitely keep them on my mind and try to visit them when I have time...

It's possible that some of them already stop this payment option, as things in the crypto world change too rapidly, haha!

Anyway, do you agree with this list of top 10? I've only been to Prague and Vienna on this list and when I were there last year, I actually did not see many stores accepting crypto, but I did not do any research then and again... things change quickly as well...

prague-1119791_640.jpg

images - pixabay

Sort:  

hey you're going to Japan?
have fun spending your btc there!

<Anyway, do you agree with this list of top 10?

NOOOOOO... somethings not right about it
Japan should be 1st as thousands of shops are accepting btc there from what I read last year.. I cant remember where I got that info though sorry about that

as for Prague - top 2 I think
and Arnhem - top 4 damn we fell from #1 t0 #6 according to this

thanks!

well, I thought so like you regarding Japan, but it seems things have changed quite a bit... according to the info I have gathered now... and I will soon witness it myself and let everyone know.... :)

so it seems
am already curious
will have a look at your journey when am here
have fun and be safe!

Thanks!

Posted using Partiko Android

I was Tokyo this June and I went to some of the places you mentioned and unfortunately they do not accept BTC now.

I think there are some places are accepting BCH.

However as per your post in Japan they have a big electronic super store called BIG camera and you could litterly buy everything with BTC and get 15% something discount.

And I did buy something last month in Bic camera.

Regarding UK, I use Wirex crypto debit card and I use almost every single place that accepts MasterCard. However in London we have many places that accepts BTC as a direct payment.

BCH is popular in Japan I guess, I’m a BCH supportor myself so doesnt matter lol. I did see BIC camera accepts btc there but the fee is kinda high I thought.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I remember you mentioned that you love Roger and BCH!

I really need to figure out a way to only use Crypto in Japan.

I’m going to buy something in Bic Camera this weekend and calculate the fees and I’m sure paying by BTC is cheapest option for me as foreigner.

Looking forward for your report. Have fun in Fukuoka, eat a lot of ramen in ramen hometown :p

thanks for this valuable info... it seems I need to prepare for disappointment... >_< but should get some BCH as well....

Not directly relevant, but I posted a few minutes ago asking whether any international charities accept crypto to help the victims of the Sulawesi tsunami: https://steemit.com/cn/@wentong-syhhae/tsunami-in-indonesia-yinni-h-ixiao-yinn-ni-haeshiaw

Crypto seems like an effective way to cut down on corruption, but maybe I'm too idealistic. Perhaps @deanliu is correct: it is only accepted by trendy places run by digital hipsters. We still have a long way to go.

technology can save people only when people wants to save people, and yeah, we, the people, still have a long way to go, not the tech. let's hope people with good intentions gets help by the tech though... so we can help them help others.

Kinda surprised to see BsAs on this list, but I guess yea, with their current currency situation. I remember last year when I was there, so many « dolar cambio » currency exchange men on the street, maybe now they all switched to cryptos, which is a good thing.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you for the information @deanliu

I hope that there will be more and more friendly places with Crypto. Maybe in the future crypto wallet will be like other online payment tools.

that day will come. ^^

Damn I m just back from Tokyo, this info comes a bit late Dean! ^^

really? then you should know them already! ^^ relax, maybe most of them are no longer valid .... :~~~~~ I'll let you know and prepare your next trip.... LOL

是欧美喔。

Hi @deanliu!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.646 which ranks you at #471 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 4 places in the last three days (old rank 467).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 207 contributions, your post is ranked at #10.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

As someone living in the Netherlands I still have to visit Arnhem for this purpose. Looking forward to it.