Building My First Mining Rig... Step 1: Deconstruction

Building My First Mining Rig...


I have been in the cryptocurrency space for a while now, primarily focused on software development/DApps, but I've recently started to learn more about mining and now I want to get some hands-on experience.

I currently have two computers at my disposal, an older Dell (Optiplex GX620) and one of the latest Mac Minis.

In order to mine with my Mac Mini & get any any type of decent returns, I would have to buy an Akitio Node or a similar eGPU box because there is no way to directly connect the graphics card (GPU).

In order to mine on the Dell computer, I'd have to upgrade the RAM, the hard drive and the power supply as well as purchase a GPU.


Step 1: Deconstruction...

After weighing my options, I decided to turn my Dell into a rig. I removed the hard drive, the cd and floppy drives and the power supply. Unfortunately, this motherboard only has one slot for a GPU, but it's a start... My main objective in this process is to learn as much about mining and building mining rigs as I can.

Here's what the computer looks like now...
20180126_215207.jpg


Thanks for reading

Please upVote, reSteem, share and Follow my journey...

Best,

@debraycodes

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing the post too. So after the deconstruction, what the next process. I'm looking forward to that sir

Next is getting a more powerful power supply, upgrading the ram, upgrading the hard drive to a SSD and purchasing a GPU. Will definitely do my research and try to get the most BANG for my buck... Will DEFINITELY keep y'all posted...

Thanks, I got that.

Man Im going have to come take a look at this.

This is a cool project. Looks like more and more are getting into mining. What do you plan to mine with this machine?

It depends, most likely, ETH... Maybe XMR??...