Litecoin ATMs spreading!

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago

Litecoin Taking Over The World!

Okay, admittedly that headline is a bit dramatic...but Litecoin has seen amazing growth in both price and popularity recently. If you read my blog regularly you know I love LTC, so I was super excited when I read a press release about the spreading of LTC ATMs!


"Reports have indicated a strong recent rise in the number of litecoin ATMs globally. According to coinatmradar’s report, there over 50 cryptocurrency ATM terminals that received installatation of litecoin integration last month."

"The number of cryptocurrency ATMs supporting litecoin worldwide is reported to have more than doubled last month. According to coinatmradar, the total number of litecoin atms is now 91 units – comprising more than 90% of the terminals that support a cryptocurrency other than bitcoin. According to the next most supported altcoin is ethereum – with 13 terminals supporting ETH, followed by Dash with 7 terminals, and Dogecoin with 5."

"The majority of litecoin ATMs are situated in the United States. In recent months, Bitcoin of America added LTC capabilities to 19 cryptocurrency ATMs, Rockitcoin added litecoin to all 40 of the company’s atm terminals, and Athena Bitcoin added LTC transaction support to 10 machines. At present, the US markets account for more than half of the world’s litecoin integrated cryptocurrency ATMs."

Source


There was also a great little article in CoinTelegraph about new LTC ATMs in Toronto! Next time I go to Toronto I am definitely going to try and fit testing out the LTC ATM into my schedule!

"Canadians can now transact in Litecoin with LocalCoinATM Bitcoin ATMs in the Toronto area. This is the first time that another cryptocurrency can be bought and sold in a physical machine in the city. It is expected that as Bitcoin scalability issues become apparent, more and more support will be offered to other cryptocurrencies."

Future plans to support more altcoins and locations

"There are also plans of installing cryptocurrency ATM’s in North York, though the company has not yet finalized the exact date of the launch. They have, however, announced that the new machines will support Litecoin and possibly other new cryptocurrencies."

Source

These are exciting times for cryptocurrency and especially for Litecoin! I haven't been able to blog as much as I like on Steemit lately because of a crypto project I am working on, but I hope to have a special Litecoin post out soon!

Litecoin for the win!



Sort:  

Maybe lower Bitcoin fees could damage Litcoin in short term , could be a nice chance to buy some

My hope is that BTC initiates SegWit then we get lightning network on both, that would be awesome!

This is fantastic! ATM machines (haha) are a huge step for crypto. One step closer to killing all banks lol.

I wonder how many people have tried to get cash out and got really confused ;)

Hi! I am a robot. I just upvoted you! I found similar content that readers might be interested in:
https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@getpayed777/atm-s-in-toronto-can-now-support-litecoin-transactions-2017725t151741821z

Upvote and following

Litecoins future is looking quite promising! Following in bitcoins footsteps.

the LTC to BTC ratio is 4/1 imagine if the price follows the supply ratio...

This is reminding me much of the gold and silver ratio difference at the moment. I think you mught be onto something for all those gold and silver stackers out there.

At the moment the gold and silver ratio is out of whack in the markets too. Lets see.

You might find this old article i wrote interesting, it is about this very subject!

https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@digicrypt/applying-the-gold-silver-ratio-to-cryptocurrency

Oh, thanks looksgood ill have a read. I would upvote your comment but I dont think I can at the moment :(

Gotta like LTC right now with all the bitcoin turmoil.

Yeah LTC is proving itself to be a very viable alternative! Fast cheap and getting faster!

the total number of litecoin atms is now 91 units – comprising more than 90% of the terminals that support a cryptocurrency other than bitcoin.

That is good news! Litecoin keeps on moving up. 🚀

Very good news! LTC continues to make advancements, lightning network will be awesome!

Any word on the progress of lightning network integration?

Well there was an mysterious "announcement" listed on an MIT website that ppl were speculating was about adding lightning, but that appears to be false, i believe the website has been taken down and Charlie Lee on twitter send he put in an inquiry with a contact at MIT. I know there are ppl working on it but as far as a timeline... no idea.

That answers another question I had, haha. I was curious what happened with the MIT website "announcement."

Guess we'll know more about lightning once Bitcoin implements segwit and people starting asking what is next. Go ahead Litecoin, take the lead on that right? 😏

Yeah, I am expecting some very interesting things to come out in the next few months.

Exactly! That is what is so great about Litecoin, it is so similar to BTC but less known, making it a perfect testing ground for BTC and general crypto development!

I will try and keep my ears open for anything with MIT as well, because i must admit I am still curious...

I would love to be able to find a terminal, put in a bunch of loose change, relentlessly inflationary paper money and get a receipt for Litecoins. That would be so dope!

That would be awesome if there was a "coinstar" variant that paid crypto!