Avoid this mistake when using GDAX!

coinbase.png

A few weeks ago I got locked out of my Coinbase and GDAX accounts! Here's how to avoid this very frustrating issue!

When I first started buying cryptos, I did it through Coinbase - as I'm sure many beginners do. When I first signed up, I was asked for one piece of ID and for my credit card. No other information was necessary in order to purchase Bitcoin.

A few weeks later, I decided that it's time to graduate to GDAX. GDAX asked me for a second piece of ID, so I scanned my passport. I got a FAIL and no explanation why. I tried for the second time! FAIL again! At least this time, they told me that it's because they couldn't verify my address.

At this point, BOTH, my Coinbase and GDAX accounts got locked!

The instructions in the GDAX screen asked me to go back to Coinbase and update my address. Did that. And... NOTHING.

This is extremely frustrating as Coinbase did not require an address in order to buy or sell cryptos. When signing up to GDAX, there was no warning informing me that I'd need to go back and include an address before attempting to get verified!

When I log into Coinbase, I get this annoying image:

Coinbase1.png

When I click on "Why are buys disabled on my account?", I get this very generic info that isn't applicable to me:

coinbase2.png

When I click on "Submit Request", I get this really frustrating and useless chat bot:

And when I go to submit a cast, there is no drop-down option that is relevant to my buy/sell being locked:

coinbase4.png

I've been locked out for months now and no one has responded to my email case.

Lesson here is: if you're moving to GDAX, ensure that you fully update your address on Coinbase before attempting to get verified on GDAX!

Sort:  

Sorry to see this type of occurence. Coinbase is so quirky, the app failed me once this year after a $1200 Etheruim purchase, I got an "update now" message for several days. At least my coins were waiting for me when it did finally let me in, I transferred my ETH immediately to my Trezor. Not a big fan of Coinbase.