Negatively Positive: Trybe

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago

Negatively Positive is a series I want to start on different crypto projects. It will look at the negative side of projects that I like. The reason for this is I feel that criticising projects can make them better in the long run. Also, many people promote projects purely for monetary gain. So I think it is good to have an impartial look at these projects and how to make them better.

The principal objects of this post about Trybe are:

1. Will Trybe let me get past review when it is a negative post about the website.

2. Put some issues forward for the company's consideration.

3. Shed some light on a project I love.

Points that need to be addressed are as follows.

1. The first look of the site and what I thought about it when I first came to it.

2. The Pre-sale and how pointless it is.

3. Finding anything interesting to read on the site.

4. The review process.

5. The Token.

After all this, I want to explain why I love this project even if it does have its problems and where I see it going in the future.


1. The first look of the site and what I thought about it when I first came to it.


The picture above is a screenshot of my monitor when I first come to the site on a desktop. As you can see it is very bland and boring. If I scroll down, there is more to see and read about but as every website designer knows you make sure the eye-catching info is at the top. However, I do feel it falls short on this. 

When I first looked at this site, I walked away. It just didn't appeal to me until someone spoke about it and I signed up.


2. The Pre-sale and how pointless it is.


For this to make sense you need to read Tom Norwood's post.

Here is the part I will be referencing.


"However, any tokens that you buy in the pre-sale will have two conditions:

(a) They will not be eligible for airdrop bonuses.

(b) They will be staked until the 1st of July 2019, and after that you will only have access to 10% of the balance each month for six months. After 1st January 2020, they will all be fully available for transfer/sale."


I have worked out Trybe is around $0.017 per token, so the $0.01 is quite a good offer is what I first thought.

Say I buy a token right now and it is $0.017 this will be eligible for all airdrops in the future. I might get lucky and get 1 - 1 coins on the airdrop, and if I do, then I already own 2 Trybe for $0.017. 

Now let us say they decide to run more than one airdrop. This will be pure profit at that point.

All of this is also taking into consideration that Trybe will stay at this price and won't fluctuate. 

I cannot see any situation why it would be a good deal not only to hold the tokens until July next year but also give up the right to receive airdrops.


3. Finding anything interesting to read on the site.

I would love to see more about what other people are writing on the site but I never actually know what I want to read. I enjoy just looking through websites and picking the ones that look interesting, but it is just not clear on how to do this. Now I know the team might be working on this so I won't go into it too much but its just a tiny thing that bugs me.


4. The review process.

As I said earlier, I am also posting this to see if it gets approved because the problem with a review process is personal bias. I understand that Trybe is not on the blockchain yet (If I am correct) however, if it goes on the EOS blockchain then I hope this will go away. I don't believe in censorship, and I do understand right now while it is not on the blockchain you need to censor for legal reasons. 

Another reason the review process is a problem is time. It can take hours to get approved for some people or to get a review back to then have to put it forward again. The main issue is content creators like to put out a certain amount of content at certain times to get the most views, and this process doesn't help that.


5. The Token.

My views on the token are purely in a financial gain perspective. If we look at the trading market, To keep a coin going up it has to have more demand than supply. The Trybe token has no demand right now (If you are selfish). The only need for the token is to give people higher votes now if I don't care about other people then what would be the need for it? Well I know they are thinking about staking options so will this bring people to want it? Not really because nearly all the significant tokens on EOS are getting staking options now. So what is the demand? I am not sure yet, but I hope they have something coming up.


I have spoken in length about the issues of Trybe, but this doesn't mean I don't love the project. I think it is a much better alternative to Steemit. It feels much smoother and less complicated than steemit and Trybe have a fantastic team working on the project. 

Trybe can also change without doing a hard fork even if it goes to the EOS blockchain due to the fantastic design of EOS. 

And I have earned more on Trybe in a couple of weeks than I have in a year on Steemit due to the way the voting system fights against vote buying and selling and pushes for equality. 

Trybe is indeed in its infancy, and I am sure we have great things to come from the team. 


I am posting this on both Trybe and Steemit simultaneously both as the same username as an experiment to see (1) How long it will take to go through the review process (2) If it gets approved.


All information in this post is my personal opinion and not financial advice.