Do Not Underestimate The Power Of The Dog. Remember Dogecoin?

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago (edited)

No matter how silly something may appear to be, the human nature often surprises and defies logic. I was reading this article today and would like to take a minute to comment on it.
https://arstechnica.com/tech-policy/2018/01/remember-dogecoin-the-joke-currency-soared-to-2-billion-this-weekend/

What's With Dogecoin And The Dog?

"Doge" is our fun, friendly mascot! The Shiba Inu is a Japanese breed of dog that was popularized as an online meme and represents Dogecoin.

Dogecoin was created in 2013 as a joke, using a Shiba Inu meme. Back in those days, there weren't many cryptocurrencies around like the thousands that we have today. So Dogecoin may be considered as one of the early cryptos.

Is Dogecoin A Good Cryptocurrency?

Whenever Dogecoin is invoked in crypto discussions, there's always a chuckle in the room. I can't help but smile because the friendly face of DOGE comes to my mind, but on a serious side, I appreciate Dogecoin for several reasons:

  • Simplicity
    No fuss, no mess. A cryptocurrency that does what it's intended to do.
  • Functional Wallets
    There are two wallets to choose from: MultiDoge the light wallet (http://multidoge.org/), or the full Dogecoin Core wallet (http://dogecoin.com/). Of course, there are online wallets and exchanges where you can trade Dogecoin.
  • Low Fees
    In MultiDoge, the fee is locked to 1 DOGE, but with the full wallet, the fee can be set to anything you want. Low fees are extremely important and beneficial to micro-transactions.
  • Speed
    Whether you pay 1, 2 or 5 DOGE in fees, you get the same 6/6 confirmations within 2 minutes, maybe 5 minutes max on a busy hour.
  • Unbloated Blockchain
    The full blockchain with all its small and big files is only taking 23 GB on my computer.
  • High Supply
    Some may consider a high supply as detrimental to a coin's value (smaller supply = higher value). However, the supply doesn't matter much, but the market capital does because it represents the total value of a coin. Also, a high supply is practical: nobody likes to transact with silly decimals! Bitcoin, anyone?
    Considering today's prices, 1 BTC = $15000 and 1 DOGE = $0.015,
    $10 = 0.00066666 BTC = 666 DOGE

Those are important elements that define a good cryptocurrency which is practical, efficient, and that works. I have used Dogecoin many times, and was never disappointed with its performance. That's pretty impressive for a project that hasn't seen development in 18 months!

While other cryptos are struggling with scaling and scrambling to implement new solutions and features, the lack of development with Dogecoin does not equate with a lack of performance. The currency has been functioning well so far; if it isn't broke, don't fix it.

Current Market Standing

Dogecoin is ranked 31 with a market capital that surged over $2 billion this week and is sitting at $1.7 billion today. That's higher than STEEM's market cap! It shows that investors and believers aren't ready yet to let go of their DOGE. The coin has shot up 5x in a month.

Why Is Dogecoin Successful? Will It Last?

On top of the financial and technical points that I mentioned, Dogecoin's success may also be attributed to the gained momentum from some serious endeavors, such as community fund raisers for a bobsled team and water wells in developing countries, among other charitable initiatives (http://www.dogedoor.net/dogecoin-charities/).

What's interesting to note this year in particular, according to the Chinese zodiac, 2018 is Year of the Dog. It starts on 16 February 2018 and ends on 4 February 2019.

Dog is man's good friend who can understand the human's spirit and obey its master, whether he is wealthy or not. The Chinese regard it as an auspicious animal. If a dog happens to come to a house, it symbolizes the coming of fortune. The invincible God Erlang in Chinese legend used a loyal wolfhound to help him capture monsters.
https://www.travelchinaguide.com/intro/social_customs/zodiac/dog.htm

Without a doubt, China has become an economic super power to be respected. We have witnessed many times how Chinese decisions have impacted the crypto space in 2017, with massive price swings across the board. Simply put, China matters. Since the Chinese people have a strong attachment to their culture, I can only imagine the positive effects that the Chinese investors and users will bring to Dogecoin in 2018. Perhaps even take over the project development and do some improvements, who knows.

DOGE Giveaway

To kick start the year of the DOGE (I know, it hasn't officially started yet), I'm doing another DOGE giveaway. That last one I did was in my 2000 Followers Milestone post. More will come, keep following and reading my blog 😉

So, to celebrate prosperity, I'm giving away 1000 DOGE to the first 10 users who will do the following:

  • Upvote and resteem this post.
  • Write a meaningful comment why you think DOGE is cool or if you wish to share a dog story.
  • Include your Dogecoin address in the comment
    Commenting with "Nice Post, I love DOGE. Here's my Dogecoin address. Gimme!" will not qualify.

Tha dawg is trading around $0.015 today
(it doubled since my last giveaway 3 weeks ago!)


That's a cool 10 x $15 = $150 giveaway.

If you don't have a Dogecoin wallet, I recommend you try MultiDoge. And please use a valid Dogecoin address, I won't re-send your giveaway if you provide a wrong address. You can validate it at http://dogetools.net/validate.php.

Results

The giveaway is complete, congratulations to the 10 recipients.
Don't waste your DOGE on pizza 🍕 like some people did with Bitcoin.

transactions.png

@khaled-dz and @sreepyeldarb missed their chance because they didn't upvote and/or resteem the post, as indicated in the rules. Better luck next time.


DISCLAIMER: I'm not a financial nor a professional adviser. I formulate my opinions based on my research and interpretation of market news and chart analysis. If you're not a professional investor, please educate yourself before doing any market trading and don't risk more than you can afford to lose.

Follow

Available & Reliable. I am your Witness. I want to represent You.

🗳 If you like what I do, consider voting for me 🗳

Vote

If you never voted before, I wrote a detailed guide about Voting for Witnesses.

Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses. My name is listed in the Top 50. Click once.

Alternative voting methods

https://v2.steemconnect.com/sign/account-witness-vote?witness=drakos&approve=1
cli_wallet: vote_for_witness "YOURACCOUNT" "drakos" true true
steem-python: steempy approvewitness drakos --account YOURACCOUNT

Sort:  

Dogecoin is the currency of friendship. Imagine if our beloved DOGE was the top cryptocurrency accepted by merchants around the world. The world would be a much better place don't you think?
"Honestly, that concept of Community is the very thing that makes Dogecoin attractive to me over the other options. (...) now I realize that Dogecoin has a history of charity and goodwill that I can't help but admire, and that even Bitcoin will never be able to quite catch up with. Any financial system that puts such an emphasis on sharing and being kind to one another has more than earned my support, even if it means I have to put up with having a meme on my money."

Couldn't agree more :)

It's amazing that Doge is still around. Plenty of other coins vanished, but this "Dog-e-coin" - that's how I pronounce it, LOL - is still here.

With all the shitcoins coming and going, DOGE is still here. Respect.

The giveaway is complete, congratulations to the 10 recipients.

transactions.png

Oh my goodness! Thank you, thank you, thank you. If doge goes to BTC prices you just helped me to become a crypto millionare! If I can ever help you with a resteem or upvote please let me know. You have been a tremendous encouragement to me today. I hope you have a prosperous 2018!

@darkos is there any way to get some free dogecoin ? thanks in advance

There may be some faucets around, I never looked into that.

they are giving less than 1 doge per day , i find it useless . thanks anyway
I subscribed you

You can try to mine it.

Post on Steemit to make Steem Power & SBD. Convert those to Dogecoins & voila... You essentially got free Dogecoins.

I love DOGE. Especially the conversion pairs and the low transaction fees. I use it as a way to transfer my coins between exchanges.

Its funny, I kind of think of it like 'zipping' (WinZip) my coins cause the low fees. Id much rather pay a few cents in fees than get raped for some huge amount (unless there is no transaction fee).

Its actually quite versatile! I was thinking about using it as an incentive of some sort. I got many projects, but haven't figured out a way to implement anything. Heres to the future of DOGE!

DOGE: DDhCNVQJDSWSAzt7E7bbT7qFYeRXicNbt8

You didn't resteem yet.

I thought I did... what a crock of shit.

Oh well, better luck next time. Read the rules carefully.

I did read them. I thought I resteemed. No worries.

It was a mediocre attumn evening, 2013. The sun was just below the horizon and the birds were chirping no more. A dark day was about to prevail...

A doge arose and once of a sudden the world lit up. Was it all a joke? Can't we take anything serious anymore?

It's a world in which a bit is a lot and in which lite is covered by the rest of the world, not even considered equal to a bit. Slowly, doge started to realize that no one cared about him, just some silly gooses, spending their time around the lake just outside his door.

Doge felt a strange feeling: He needed food!

Do you want to help Doge? Please send your Doge food to: DMjxefSQbu1gG8cs5gHGxnhwVQC35wKV2E

I enjoyed your comment. Here's some DOGE to feed that hungry dog.

Doge is very happy with your dogefood & thanks you very much.

Just don't feed him too much pizza, ok? It's not healthy for him lol

Doge is a mysterious creature... You never know!

I ain't giving him any of my pizza though.. That's mine!

thanks for you help. we really do use doge in Arab world. its th best and easiest way to send your money from different exchanges. I am willing to have more so please send me as much as you want and ready to hold it.

my address is: DDz64y3RwkzTsD5VqoGbFE1Saq5z9f2ybG

You need to upvote and resteem the post to get the prize.

done. will you send me now

Too late, you missed your chance 😢
I'll give you an upvote because you tried.

thanks man just your post about doge is something makes us happy. you can believe how much we use doge to trensfer money from an excgange to another one. youtubers are telling everyone to do that to everyone is new in crypto world. it ok will follow you now to get more chances lol.

Though i don,t know much about all this coins because am still coming up and still learning about crypto but all i can say is that, if dogecoin can survive since 2013 up till this moment and the market trend is still making sense, i think dogecoin is strong and it has fulfilling future.

Right on! You couldn't have said it better.

I always sell my STEEM to DOGE if I want to withdraw Philippine PESO because of low fee. I use Coinpot.co Dogecoin wallet if I want to convert it in BTC for free. I use Jaxx wallet on android if I want to exchange Dogecoin to PESO instantly via pinoybitcoinexchange.com ;)

Very happy that DOGE is being used.

I used to have thousands of these but never thought it would ever amount to anything. I can't even remember where I have them. So since I'm collecting cryptos, this is a good chance to start stacking Doge again! Great giveaway! Doge address here:

9vb3mpZ518chFGEGwSPNimUghLpEw4WVMn

Thanks for the Doge! Generous guy!

Indeed, well said Drakos!
Doge does stand out as one of those quickest and lowest cost cryptos to transfer money between exchanges!
It is in fact much used in the Arab world, that's how I came to learn about it, particularly through my friend @khaled-dz 's recommendation!
and in case I qualify lol, my address : DAKw5oJryfNUevoMgrC31B6ZjsrrU51YZw

you are very welcome dear brother.. Arab world is using Doge Coin since 2014 so we trust it and find it useful for us . I don't mind having millions of fast and trusth coin.

Ahahaha I had so much fun reading this post, sly lowkey humor too, I likey

That's my style :)

I gave you a follow my dude, lessgoooo

actually i am a cat supporter but how not to love a Shiba Inu :D
the official website of dodge coin looks like a joke :D
a very long time this avoids me to buy Dodge but two month ago i decided to put some money in and since this moment dodge is one of my fav. coins... many exchanges using dodge and i think the team behind dodge dont see it as a joke :)

so looking forward with dodge!

DAhoig81vEkBkkZWoMcYYnh96fudroDxu8

And we have our 10th winner.

thanks a lot mate! u got a new active follower :D

You're welcome. Also I noticed you tried to vote for me as witness, but you unvoted immediately. Many newbies do that mistake. Can you retry? Use the SteemConnect link in my post's footer, it's much easier and prevent making that mistake.

Oh sure ! :) sometimes the witness page lag a lil bit?

https://steemd.com/witnesses ? Yes that one has been slowish lately.

Good evening @drakos of course I love doge.. Why just like you say, started as a joke, is still here and making a move in 2018.. The year of the dog for sure will help. When I was a young boy we always had dogs.. But since I have kids and not at home a lot we decided that it's the best for the dog itself to not have one..
So now it's a bird "nemo"like me daughter @creatisa posted some pictures. Thx for this contest and I hope these 1000 Dogecoin will bring me luck in 2018..

Kind regards, Ron
D6y6s3LUrQoTXLC9ivStWffdW8JjEpeU8A

Thanks for sharing this post. I really like dogecoin. It is a great coin to get someone started in the crypto scene. It is more serious than cryptokittes but it still has a fun factor to it. On a side note, I cant wait for TRON Dogs, HaHa. I think the dogecoin could go to 5 in 2018 and that would be awesome. I do believe that it will be around for a long time because it has already been around for a while. The only negative is that it takes a while for the ap to sync. Good Luck in 2018!

Can you paste the address in text, don't feel like typing that lol.

OK Sorry. I dont know why I thought you would scan the QR code. Im still pretty new at all of this stuff. Once again, I do appologize.

No need to apologize. So use DGX6FJkjrWaPq9hLLDXn6tCLaujsvmWRZR ? Cause it's different from that QR image. I see you fixed it. But you messed up the comment markup code. DOGE Sent.

OMG! No the correct one is on the Image. Here I will try again. I may be somewhat dyslexic. DJwgVPuhW2xkynE3n2DMtwNHFH2fj1eqXM

You can edit and remove the QR image, it's no longer needed.

Thanks for the info on doge, I've been wondering.. a friend told me it is going to keep growing, but it's hard to take serious... I doubt I can create a wallet in time to collect, but thanks for what you are doing :)

P.s. I love my dog, but she loves my mom more... So I don't really have custody anymore :)

Just in case ;)

DFyAjz5esNqFMqT9S1p7t1mKUdxomB7fAL

I like Dogecoin and think that it's a great coin for holding. You should pick up a few K of these right now while you can because it won't be under 2 cents for long.

I'm holding until they are 1 dollar each.

My address: D6GjuBC8TdVzrGdUkduA5XknkcjoznKiwS

This is the push I needed to get into doge I think also the best characteristic is that it's value is so stable, for transactions that can be very useful. Can I reply with my doge address later?

Ok here it is:

DBYXM8yYeaCWgs5GF5Qgk1qjFJTvTy3HQZ

Sure, but hurry up before 10 people beat you to it :)

Much love, thanks!!!! Btw, I just learned of these doge faucets, how cool is that!

I guess I missed this giveaway round. Just knew about it now through one of the winners. I look forward to participate in your next one :)

Hi, I like doge because of many reason, some of them is that I love dogs generally, thatI bought about 3k doge when it was worth like dust, and because it is a coin that has a large thriving community that makes him usable and build a system around it.

my address: DMaYoP9NwG8XY71kqKiAPpjHgL5mUCnxRP

Hi, I like doge because of many reason, some of them is that I love dogs generally, thatI bought about 3k doge when it was worth like dust, and because it is a coin that has a large thriving community that makes him usable and build a system around it.
I also love it because now is the time of the little altcoin, they are the hot new thing and doge is a great candidate to be one of the new rulers :)
my address: DMaYoP9NwG8XY71kqKiAPpjHgL5mUCnxRP

You can 'edit' your comments you know, instead of retyping a new one. You need to resteem the post to get your DOGE. Hurry up, 2 giveaways left.

Done, sorry - I'm not such a noob - I used the busy.org platform and it's laggy right now, I already resteemed and didn't try to republish, the platform did problems :(

sorry man, but i can not belive in doge coins haha

That's ok, some people don't like DOGE lol

Faithful dogecoin. Wonderful post about bitcoin trading market and Cryptocurrency. Thanks

I just bought $100 worth just for shits and giggles. Basically because of all the reasons you just mentioned. Will I take it serious? Probably not but maybe I will keep throwing a few bones that way just because Doge has been around so long. It deserves quite a bit of respect just for that alone! God Bless.

This was an awesome write up man, very informative and interesting speculative opinion on this altcoin...
I think it has a good future due to its access and price, and its still very underestimated compared to some of the others.

I don't have a Dogecoin wallet yet, but I've been holding some on Coinspot for a while now, made a few tidy scalps but i'm more interested in the logistics behind the new coins/tokens on the Blockchain, including their marketing strategies in such a modern and intelligent buyers market.

I will buy Dogquin. I will do your advice, my friend

Don't buy on my advice. Do your homework and learn about coins before investing. I forgot to add the disclaimer in my post. Fixed now.

Man that Doge. Probably the only coin recognized by the general public as a thing due to its mascot.

How can you resist its charm?

This post has received gratitude of 8.66 % from @appreciator thanks to: @drakos.

makes me kind of sad that I sold my ~100k supply of dogecoin that I had been holding for years a few months back :(

Oh well... still made a profit off of it.

There's room for profit in the long term. I will surely stock up on DOGE when the price goes back to a fraction of a penny. Then hold it for a few months :)

Awesome post! I'm new to the Doge community but I love its positive vibes, the altruism and goodwill that's associated with it. Some have counted it out as a joke, but I believe that it has great potential. Thanks for sharing the info