You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 51% Attacks And The Future Of PoW

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago

It's unlikely, but witnesses could collude to get a majority. That happened with Lisk, which has a different design than Steem: 101 active witnesses who receive 'forging rewards' and cooperate in pools. I don't think the majority pool did anything malicious, though.

Sort:  

Yes that's what I was thinking it would only be possible with a dpos if people plotted in a big group.

hey.... I just saw that this reply wasnt even sent, i have a bad internet here in NORWAY, boasting one of the best internets in the world. Theres no way saterlites are even real!

I came back here to ask you if Tokens (I have more value in tokens than coins) are possible to do a 51% on? at a quick think they shouldn't be as the represent shares in a company?

OK, tokens are as safe as the blockchain they're registered on. In theory, there could be a problem if the tokens are worth more than the underlying coin.

In practice, the greatest risk is errors in the contract code for Ethereum tokens. That's why I prefer standardized Waves tokens.

I just went to investigate what standardized wave tokens are, and i ended up finding the waves exchange?! Didn't even know there was such a thing, and WCT? Waves community token? Anyway atleast I have now an official wallet which will save me pain in the future :)