Tau-Chain & Agora

in #cryptocurrency8 years ago

Any opinion on Tau-Chain?

I am trying to understand the Tau-chain project. The perspective of having provably consistent and predictable software is really interesting, but the project is very ambitious and the concepts involved are difficult to grasp and not very well explained.
The idea that you can express almost any code with simple "Subject Predicate Object" rules seems dubious to me, but I don't have the background to judge. What do you think about this project?

Sort:  

Personally I think this is one of the more interesting concepts currently out there. While certainly being extremely ambitiouns the concepts behind it seem quite promising.

Tau is not a Turing complete language (in contrast to Ethereums scripting language) which makes it possible to decide certain properties of a given piece of code. This could prove very useful as one can "ask" questions about implications of a program (e.g. a contract).
I am somewhat lost with the whole "Quad" (context, subject, predicate, object) stuff being able to express programms=proofs=ontologies myself though.

Though I'm not sure I'm convinced by the fundamentals, I invested a bit, since the Bittrex price si almost half of the official crowdsale prices. I'm a little bit frightened that they don't really get the blockchain economics, as Ohad mentioned the idea of sharedropping on BTC owners on Bitcointalk. It won't be done, but coming up with this idea after the crowdsale started doesn't look like a great insight in my view. I would say that it has a good hype potential.

@dana-edwards has a good post about it.

Yes indeed, great post!

I ddg:d "agora tau" and the second search result was here :-)

If you want to know more, check out "Coin Interview with Ohad" on youtube. It's long but a very good explanation of what's being done here. A decentralized internet is the future, and many think Tau-Chain will build the best smart contracts. Ethereum cannot scale but it's all that we have now. ETH is sitting at 50$ a token now, so the upward pressure on Agoras as it gets more attention and is being utilized. I bought Agoras and don't regret...look into it before the next rounds of funding/publicity come as it will most likely continue to rise.

Can someone please explain this in simple terms so that normal people like me understand.