Sort:  

at some point almost everybody will have switched, and the talk you take for wisdom is preaching to a sectarian choir. I'm curious if that's not already happening.

I'm curious if that's not already happening.

So, where are the devs going now?

What I have been seeing is people working hard to solve Bitcoin problems. Despite the forks, despite all the coins that claim to be the next bitcoin, the real Bitcoin is still here. This is not a sectarian choir, as you said. It is something you can easily see by yourself.

I expect plenty of Bitcoin developers have moved on to set up other coins when they see better technology options. Bitcoin is brilliant technology, but I wonder if the founders foresaw the impact it would have in resources before it's even become an everyday thing for most people. It just cannot carry on as it is now.

I should mention that the article is not about Bitcoin as that is not viable on GPUs and uses dedicated hardware. That still needs replacing regularly.

At the very least we should be harvesting heat from mining rigs to warm homes or generate power.