HOW I LOST $250 IN BITCOIN!

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago (edited)

Hey, guys, my name is Sam and I've just started getting into cryptocurrency properly, I've been monitoring and researching it for a couple of years to see the direction it was heading in and came to the conclusion about a week ago I would purchase some BTC so bought about $500 worth.

Later that week I was just browsing YouTube and found out about the possible BTC fork which I should have found out about earlier but I didn't because I kind of stopped following the whole community for a while. Anyway I came to the conclusion that I'd just sell half back into GBP just encase BTC did fork; I was going to do this through Coinbase but I realised that it takes up to 5 days and I was concerned that the value would drop a lot by then meaning that I wouldn't get as much back as I put in. So I looked up ways to sell it and for it to go instantly into my PayPal account so I looked around a bit and found a supposed website that I could transfer my BTC to, and for a small fee they would put the corresponding amount of money into my PayPal. This is where things started to go downhill. The website known as OnestPay looked legit and a few other people had recommended it online so I sent $250 USD of BTC to be converted to GBP PayPal. I tracked the transaction and saw that the transaction confirmations were quite slow so I just left it and went out for an hour.

When I came home the OnestPay transaction page still said 0 BTC received. At this point is started to worry due to the fact that although BTC transactions are slow at the moment it should have been confirmed by now, right? I went to my wallet and tracked the transaction. It had been confirmed. I went back to OnestPay and refreshed the page to double check it hadn't gone through and there it was again 0 BTC received.

Now I started to really panic, I attempted to contact OnestPay through email and live chat yet no response. I browsed the internet to try to find other contact methods and found this 'OnestPay is a scam!'...
My BTC was gone. However, I have learned from my mistakes and now will make sure to RESEARCH websites before I just send hundreds of dollars of Bitcoin to them.
hqdefault.jpg

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing this will look out for that scam site and avoid, there are many scam platforms that are popping up so be extra careful on your Bitcoins.

The sad part is that in three months time, the whole crash will be forgotten.

I hate scammers !!!!' That's awful 😲

Upvoted.

May I suggest editing your post with some paragraph breaks so it isn't a giant wall of nigh-unreadable text? Your sentence structure looks OK, but the text body needs to be broken down a bit into separate segments.

Also, bad exchanges should be called out. It sucks that you got scammed. There are always myriad such schemes that pop up when something new is developed online. Good work publicizing it at any rate.

Thanks, I've edited the post.

That looks much better!

You've been UpVoted via the UpVote Experiment 002 Bot. Depending on my VP & the price of STEEM you should get a $.01-$.03 for your trouble.
Read more about this experiment here.

Thank You - @blueorgy

Congratulations @galacticpasty! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @galacticpasty! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!