$100 of each top 7 Cryptocurrency on 1st January 2016. Where are they now??

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago (edited)


Most Steemit users are very familiar with the exciting world of cryptocurrencies but often find it difficult to explain to friends the huge implications and profitability of investing in such a radical and new industry. In trying to devise the best way to demonstrate the potential for gains I thought it would be interesting to look back at 2016 and see what would happen if we invested $100 in each of the top 7 cryptocurrencies ...... and heres what I found

January 1st 2016


Bitcoin $100 invested buys 0.24 of a coin

Ethereum  $100 invested buys me 35 coins

Ripple $100 invested buys me 16212 coins

Litecoin $100 invested buys 29 coins

Monero $100 invested buys me 223 coins

Ethereum Classic $100 invested buys me 172 coins

Dash $100 invested buys me 38 coins

Total $700


Ok so thats $ 700 of hard earned fiat toilet paper invested ....... lets fast forward one year and see how our investment is paying off ....

January 1st 2017


Bitcoin ... 0.24 is now worth $220

Ethereum ... 35 coins are now worth $256

Ripple ... 16212 coins are now worth $102

Litecoin ... 29 coins are now worth $127

Monero ... 223 coins are now worth $2315

Ethereum Classic ... 172 coins are now worth $181

Dash ... 38 coins are now worth $367

Total  $3,568


So in one year a $700 investment returns $3568 thats over 500% proving crypto to be one of the worlds best performing assets in 2016. 



Lets not finish there though , we all know that 2017 has seen huge gains and this year looks like the real launch pad for the industry so lets check on our initial investment 5 months into this year. So this is $700 invested and a time period as of today of 17 months .......

May 24th 2017


Bitcoin ... 0.24 is now worth $572

Ethereum ... 35 coins are now worth $6670

Ripple ... 16212 coins are now worth $5715

Litecoin ... 29 coins are now worth $994

Monero ... 223 coins are now worth $12242

Ethereum Classic ... 172 coins are now worth $2536

Dash ... 38 coins are now worth $5650

Total $34,378


Well there you go the figures speak for themselves , thats nearly a 5000% increase in under a year and a half and its only just begun. There are still plenty of lower priced coins with the potential to increase exponentially as well as the overall trend for all crypto being overwhelmingly up, Bitcoin continues to reach all time highs as does Dash and Ethereum and Zcash and Monero ...... Who knows what is to come but what I can say assuredly is if you havnt invested at least a small amount in these technologies as little as $700 then you are potentially missing out on a once in a lifetime opportunity. Be smart jump on the rocket now or youll miss the trip to the moon.

Sort:  

Thank you for the info! Always wondered how much it'll be worth if we went back in time and fast forwarded to rpesent time.

All we need is a DeLorean ride back to 2011 and few thousand bitcoin ;)

I like this. Gives a more solid view as to what is going on.
I've used Steem to buy Dash & Ethereum.
Steem I have earned from Posting.
So for me, it's a win win situation.
I also like the look of Monero, so I may go for some of that.
I am only looking at Cryptocurrencies that are being used as a tool.
I have no interest in the Pump & Dump Alt-Coins.
I believe Dash, Monero and Ethereum will survive the big shake out that will come eventually.
Bitcoin is above all that and will sail on into the future as the Granddaddy of them all. It's Digital Gold.
Thanks for sharing.

I agree completely , I have dash and Monero is my personal favourite, I think these anonymous coins offer something tangible .... I also beleive Etherium will take Bitcoins place eventually especially in the second half of this year as bitcoin faces several challenges .... thanks for commenting ill follow you for future updates on your strategy

I don't think there will be a coin that will outweigh bitcoin.

Thanks for your comment , Im not so sure I agree .... I think like with any industry eventually the leader can be challenged by more competitive technologies , but we will see.

Bitcoin is the only real crypto that has the real anonymity in it. Even not knowing who created it is the best part of it. All the altcoins pumping out are just looking for a way to make lots of money. Why in the world do the creators of ripple keep 25billion for themself. So when ripple reaches the current price for bitcoin, they will be holding about 50,000,000,000,000$$ does that make any sense.

I agree to an extent but what you did there was compare bitcoin to Ripple , everyone knows that Ripple is a central bank coin and that it has no built in scarcity , to say bitcoin is the only real crypto is to discredit alot of genuine and interesting startups like Dash or Monero or PIVX .... like anything in life the answer isn't black or white , Bitcoin Good, Altcoins Bad ..... its in the grey areas.

I agree with you to an extent.

Someone promoted your post. Promotions help every steemians.
Your reward is an upvote and 0.277 SBD extra promotion.
Good job, see you next time in Promoted! ;)

Thks for the analysis, i can use it to show the performance of crypto-currencies.

Glad to be of help, Ill be posting further analysis so follow me :)

That is super interesting to know. And although we can wish we shouldve, wouldve or couldve - Theres no better time like the present.

Nice post @gamma-rat ☺️ Have upvoted, resteemed ya and given you a follow. Look forward to more of your posts.

Thank you very much ill follow you back

@gamma-rat Interesting/Insightful informational post. Thank You

UpVoted, Following, Resteemed... please consider following me. Thanks again !!

         ~~~ STEEM On !!! ~~~

Thanks for the positive comments @sacred-agent ..... I've followed you also

@gamma-rat Thanks... Have a Great Week !!

That is very interesting to see. Wish I would of done the same but i'm terrible at holding. I am doing it now though. This deserves more up votes!!

What do you think I should do. I have 1,000 usd. Should I buy BTC and hold. or should I put 100$ in the top 10 coins on coin market cap? https://coinmarketcap.com/

Research and invest in the coins that you think have technical and practical merit. Market cap is not a measure of a currency's value but more a measure of the quantity of coins that were pre-mined by its creators. Also I would not trust nor invest in any coins that can't be openly mined by the community. That goes against the empowerment of people through decentralization.

I try Invest in something I believe in...definitely makes it easier to hold

You made a killing!

I wish .... I didn't actually do this its just a "what if" scenario to demonstrate the opportunity crypto provides presently

Interesting that Monero was the best performing.

Im not an expert but I think Monero performed well last year especially in China as regulations tightened it was best placed to provide anonimity.

I see, that may mean that it continues to do well.

This is pretty incredible but this sounds false:
Ripple ... 16212 coins are now worth $16212.
Ripple is currently traded at $0.352486 each.
Which make a total of $5715 for Ripple and $34378 for the whole investment.

Thanks for the correction , late night last night ... well spotted ill edit it now, doesnt take away from the overall point though sure you agree?

For sure, this is amazing.

nice...upvote and resteem for you

Wow! Exellant growth.

Wow, this is almost unbelievable! And then you only took the "big ones"! Imagine what an effect it would cause if this post would make it to the mainstream? :D Even more profit!

Exactly my friend , while writing it I was thinking of what would of happened had all the investment gone into Ripple or Monero to begin with.... the mind boggles , maybe ill do another post on that!

Bitcoin, and other cryptocurrencies made many millionaires in the last 8 years. In 500 years crypto's will be either widely adopted by mainstream or a glitch in human history. A few hundred years ago, people who where educated enough, and had available capital to buy stocks, made a fortune.

I didn,t know that , thats an interesting bit of information thankyou

Great work! Very clear picture of the scenario before us. :) retweeted resteemed!

Awesome stats! Amazing thing about crypto is the risk/reward ratio. I'm a big fan of taking risks. :D

Nice report. I was hoping to see steemits in your set of specimens. Where do you think steemit is in its growth?

I stuck to the top 7 because that was the rules I set myself but I may work out the 7 that have improved the most , maybe Steem will feature in that

Excellent analysis!

Appreciated :) Your content seems interesting too .... Followed :)

That's a nice assessment of the coin value. Never thought about it, till now.

Thanks :)

Upvoted! Great piece.

Interesante, pero no hay que olvidar que no todas las inversiones que hagas van a ser rentables.
Invertir siempre con precaucion.

Great analysis here! Thank you.

Appreciated

This is totally new to me and totally fascinating. Please Follow Me & I will do the same!

Agreed :) thanks @iot-corp .... followed

Amazing analysis!!!

Interesting post, I also invested btc/eth and ripple last year, waiting for next January 1st 2018.

Looking good so far :)

This tells me to be patient. The reward will come!

Its a virtue :)

Amazing. Thanks for sharing this @gamma-rat.
When I show this to my wife, she may become more understanding of my cryptocurrency fetish.
*Up'ed & Follered

Glad to be of service Mick , I can think of worse fetishes to have than crypto ha

Hi, I've seen some of your publications I'm going to follow, follow me and let's collaborate together =)

Great post man good work finding out he opportunities

The best returns I've seen so far! Cryptocurrencies are exciting!

WOW this is incredible, wish I invested some money in Bitcoin

Damn!! 👏👏

Very Nicely presented. Very Helpful . Thanks

Appreciated :)

Interesting. What wallet do you use for holding? I've been looking for a reputable wallet to hold my altcoins. I need like 5 different wallets so that I hold an equal amount of coins on each of them just in case.

Thanks

Im not qualified to give advice really , I use Jaxx for some of my coins and Freewallet for others but they all have their own bugs and issues , I think theres still a gap in the market for a really good multicoin wallet

I've got jaxx, but their are only few coins there. I will check freewallet and a few of them.
Thanks

Wow! wish I would've acted on these when I 1st heard about bitcoin. But then again i'm sure we all do ha.

I think everyone feels like that , but on the bright side I really don't think its too late either , theres still a long way to go!

Some serious FOMO.

Awesome viewpoint to present those statistics. No one can argue with those numbers!

Thanks alot ..... Followed :)

Congratulations @gamma-rat! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

Im overwhelmed :)

Stupid and misleading.

OP picks the top 7 cryptocurrencies NOW, not the ones in Jan 2016.

Don't call me stupid , present your point of view by all means but no need be insulting ..... and whats misleading about facts and mathematics?