Why Wait for Filecoin? Start Using IPFS Today on the Shift Platform

RRR.jpg

Quit waiting for Filecoin, Shift is up and running and will be moving to their main network in the near future.

You may have heard of IPFS thanks to it’s genius creator, Juan Benet, or through the much talked about Filecoin which recently held an ICO that was restricted to only Angel investors, but we are still waiting for it’s product.

(If you want to learn more about what IPFS is, check out my previous post linked here that goes more into depth!)

Luckily for us, Filecoin is not the only platform allowed to use IPFS.

Shift has been building their blockchain platform on top of the IPFS protocol for some time now.

If you go to their website you'll learn:

  • Shift is a delegated proof of stake blockchain that allows for 101 nodes to get paid for maintaining the network.
  • The Shift blockchain is also turing-complete, meaning it supports smart contract for fast development and use of dApps.

Here’s an easy way to understand how IPFS and platforms like Shift and Filecoin interact:

Imagine IPFS is the backend, and projects like Shift are the front end.
IPFS is the foundation on top of which Shift can build a place for decentralized, distributed storage, marketplaces, dApps, and social media… just to name a few.

Shift has a working platform that is easily accessible by the public. Even though the current transactions are happening on the Shift test network, you can check the transaction on their official website under the “Tools” tab and select the “Explorer” option.

Here’s the cool part: Shift will very soon be making the move to their main network. Meaning their platform will officially go live.

The first dApp that will be live on Shift is called Phantom, it’s a decentralized storage app.
If you’re interested in building dApps on this platform you’ll be happy to know that you can earn a passive income by the side chain fees your app creates.

For those of you who are ready to begin experiencing what IPFS can do I suggest heading over to the Shift website and getting started already!

If you learned something from this post kindly leave an up vote,

Share this one with your friends so we can all nerd out over IPFS together :)

If you’re new to this account consider giving me a follow so you can get your weekly fix of all things crypto!

Additional Reading/Sources:

Shift Website
More on IPFS
Shift Roadmap
Shift Blockchain Explorer

Sort:  

Wow Heidi, I dod not know that Shift blockchain was build with IPFS.... from what I undestand Filecoin and IPFS is one of the big shot protocols to watch, up there with EOS... Great post Heidi

Yeah, sadly they are going the old way by doing a crowdsale only for accredited investors. I am planing to mine Filecoin. This is the only way for me to get some. :)

Or you can use a VPN for your next ICOs. Remember to change your location.

So many coins on the market, hard to invest in them all. Crazy the dip in the markets today, wonder how far down the drop will go

it is because China banned ICO´s. Pretty perfect time to buy :)

Hey @geronimo, you plan on spreading the love or just posting short comments and upvoting yourself?

why not doing both?

I completely agree with that, share the love.

You've received a FULL upvote from #TheUnmentionables - a SteemIt community full of members who like to kick ass, take names, and occassionally do it wearing (or forgetting to wear) our unmentionables...

image.png

Interested in joining us? Come join our Discord server at:

https://discord.gg/7kYYrw9

#TheUnmentionables

Please upvote this comment to help us pass out higher dollar value upvotes in the future!

This is cool, but couldn't I also use Sia which existed long before Shift?

Thanks for the info!

your knowledge is remarkable :)

Great work! Good time to buy now that everything is dropping. Keep up the great work! :)

Yeah, it's like black Friday today for crypto!

As usual I have no capital!

But I did decide to set up a system where I'd guarantee I'd have some in the future, which is basically just a way to force myself to make it a rule to put aside X amount into crypto "savings" like bitcoin and perhaps set up an account on an exchange I feel most safe and put buy and sell orders in on UDST so if the market crashes it will automatically trigger my bitcoin backup fund or whatever I end up calling it to convert into UDST and then buy in again and therefore preserve the value. Kind of annoying when market tanks and your bitcoin also tanks so it's actually not as good a deal as it seems. Maybe I have UDST set to buy back in at an ultra low price should it get back there. and tada my value is preserved and I can ride that train right back up again. Since that might be tricky to time I'd probably put a less extreme buy point and only sell a portion of it or set up several at staggered intervals to make sure I'm not trying to hit a bullseye.

Fun thing is there's so many ways to play games with savings. Just means you have to commit that yes you aren't going to spend all of this here.

Sometimes you have to make yourself have capital. Even if it's taking an extra job for 2 weekends just have enough to get in the game. One day, I just said it's now or never and ended up buying a little just to get in the game. You don't need much and my money gained 80% in 2 months.

lol, yup! I don't mind those every once in a while. I think I should have bought more. :/

Black Friday this week gold friday next week, such is the nature of the beautiful new tech we call cryptocurrency, power back to the people, where it belongs ;)

Welcome to Woldwide bittrex exchange pump channel
The bittrex force of Koreans is powerful.
Last year our pumping room was highly trusted.
Do you think 500% ~ 1500% profit is impossible in a week?
We'll show you this is true.
With accurate chart reading, we plan to periodically pump.
We are recruiting people all over the world, and we do not need your money for free!
Just watch it. Install the telegram app and get in the channel.

Join Telegram channels http://telegram.me/DvaPump

안녕하세요. bittrex 거래소 펌핑 방입니다.
저희 한국인들의 bittrex 세력과 펌핑은 매우 강력합니다.
작년에 저희 펌핑방은 각종 코인 펌핑으로 크게 신뢰를 쌓았으며,
법적문제가 현재 있지않아, 다시한번 여러분들께 역사를 다시 써나가려고합니다.
일주일에 500% ~ 1500% 수익이 불가능할 것 같나요?
저희가 보여드리겠습니다. 우리방만의 노하우와 진실을
정확한 차트 리딩과 함께 저희는 주기적으로 펌핑할 예정입니다.
현재 전세계 사람들을 모집하고있고, 회원님들 돈 강요하지 않습니다. 공짜입니다.
구경만 하셔도 좋으니 텔레그램 어플 설치하고 저희 채널에 들어와주세요 ^^

텔레그램 입장해주세요. http://telegram.me/Dvapump

your work is excellent thanks also for supporting my work and voting some of my photos. I follow you.

tu trabajo es excelente. gracias también por apoyar mi trabajo y votar algunas de mis fotos. te sigo.

this shit coin will be shut down, dont invest

why that? Please provide some information before you claim such stuff.

There are getting to be way TOO MANY of these coins.

I have quite understood what you said, but problem is, people with no knowledge of crypto, IT or coding are just listening to Chinese... @heiditravels you are not to blame for that, what I mean is, the first coin, ICO, platform, decentralized exchange, etc... that builds something that is easy to explain to people with no knowledge what so ever about all this, has struck gold...

So many good options and the fact that concerns about China have made lots of projects I believe in lose value. Decisions,decisions, decisions. Good luck to anyone investing and thanks for the knowledge on how these platforms will work with IPFS!

Great work👌👌👌 Good time to buy now that everything is dropping💐💐💐

Sadly you cannot buy Filecoin right now. Only when it hits exchanges, or by mining it.

You can invest in Shift, if that's what you decide to do.

Ok👌👌👌👌👌👌Sir💐💐💐💐💐💐

Only yesterday, which is good since we seen gains today for yesterday's purchases :)

Plese💐💐 Plese 💐💐Plese 💐💐 follow 👌👌me

Here’s the cool part

yes lets get in while it low

Nic post good luck 💪 @heiditravels

It's awesome Terimakasih banyaak..

Nice Read. With China banning ICOs and South Korea regulating crypto, it is highly likely the prices will fall further down.

Also read - https://steemit.com/news/@hramkumar/crypto-currency-blood-bath-bitcoin-litecoin-and-dash-retreat-after-china-ico-ban

Steemit Bank invested in your post.

Follow Steimit Bank

Do we have to invest to get a return?

So many good options and the fact that concerns about China have made lots of projects I believe in lose value. Decisions,decisions, decisions. Good luck to anyone investing and thanks for the knowledge on how these platforms will work with IPFS!

Great work thanks for sharing!!

Thanks for sharing this information with us.

very nice sharing, thanks for sharing with us i am following with pleasure :)

I don't normally watch your videos since a lot of this stuff is over my head but I guess the only way to learn is start listening. Thanks for sharing what you know and assisting the Steemit community!

I found her on Youtube... She seems to know enough about all of the coins.

Nice update i'm gonna follow you for more

heidi heidii deine welt sind die berge

Already bought a couple of Shift coins a couple of days ago, but will buy more today as it is cryptochristmas! :D I believe this will make a huge bump!

I think Shift is an excellent option, great video, I have loved the idea of ​​blogging in the water, it looks great, very calm and relaxed I agree with what you write, it's very interesting, thanks for sharing that information, I appreciate it if you I would give me a look at my last post and give me your opinion, greetings and success in everything @heiditravels

What about siacoin ?

Thanks! In the wake of the DTube buzz, I was wondering what the IPFS is about.

I would do you so hard baby.

Good post. We've been using IPFS for a few months already and have had decent success with it, even outside of using a tool like Shift. I think IPFS is a good long-term bet for offchain storage and for a number of the use cases you don't really need any add on platform (like Filecoin); better to understand and integrate IPFS as the core product.

Architecturally, you need to be careful about coupling IPFS with DApps. DApps is proprietary to Ethereum. IPFS can work with any blockchain network. Building simple UIs, or even better m2m code, to interact with IPFS (or other offchain tools like Storj) is not particularly challenging, and I think is a better fit for the more mundane use cases than taking on the overheard a product like Filecoin.

Interesting. I have a complete Class C 1gb/s network devoted to IPFS and I'm looking to monetize it. What do you recommend to get something going today, since Filecoin is still not released?

I hadn't heard of Shift before this. Thanks for intro...

Love the video and we need this IPFS platform on top of better and flexible APIs

Hi Heidi, thank you for the awesome information. I'm a newbie here and I feel like I still have yet so much to learn :)
I will certainly be looking more into Filecoin. Best wishes!
-@splendorhub

Heidi, are you going to participate in the Pocket token offering here on Steemit?

@heiditravels Thank you for your post.