My DIY Mining Rig! #1

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago (edited)

What's up Steemians!

Welcome to my first post about my DIY mining rig!

  • Today, I show the process of creating my first self-built Altcoin mining rig! Currently, it's not really a big mining rig because it only consist of 2 GPUs (a AMD R9 290 and an old NVidia Tesla C2050) As soon as the risers cards from AliExpress arrive, I will add more GPUs to it.
First of all, why did I build a mining rig?
  • I decided to build a mining rig because I wanted to build something; I had some old graphics cards lying around and the best thing: I don't need to pay at all for electricity. So I thought, I would build my own mining rig!
But what does mining altcoins mean?
  • To put it very simply, coins are made out of blocks and your graphic card is used to "solve equations" which then "mine" the block.
Which parts did I use?

I used common mining hardware:

  • Motherboard: ASUS PRIME B250-PLUS
  • CPU: Intel Pentium G4400
  • Ram: 4GB of HyperX Fury ram
  • GPUs: 1x AMD R9 290, 3x Nvidia Tesla C2050 (at the time of this post, I'm only using 2 gpus)
  • PSU: Corsair VS650
  • old HDD with 500GB
  • OS: Win7

I only bought the motherboard, the ram and the CPU for 170 Swiss franks. I already had the other stuff, which was great because otherwise I would have needed to wait a long time to get some good GPUs. The motherboard can hold up to 4 GPUs, which is enough for me because I only have 4.

I can't tell you the overall value of the rig. The Nvidia Teslas are some discarded GPUs of my father. The R9 290 is from my PC.

Now I had the parts, but nothing to mount them on. I went to our local public workshop to build my own mining rig frame. Here are some photos of the actual building process:

The mainboard is mounted on some placeholders:

The local workshops had this amazing clamping wedge machine:


Unfortunately, I don't have a picture of the finished mining rig. I only have this bad blurred out picture here:

The 2 GPUs are currently mounted on the mainboard. But as soon as the risers arrive I'll mount all the 4 graphic cards on the wooden retainer.

But the real question is, how much MH/s do I get?

At the moment, I'm mining Ether. The rig achieves 38MH/s. This sounds bad for 2 GPUs but the Tesla C2050 is already very old, which leads to only 8MH/s. The R9 290 gets 30MH/s, which is good. As soon as I can install the other 2 Teslas, I will get total of 54MH/s.
With this power, I would earn:

As I said, I don't need to pay for electricity, so I get the full revenue. In 1.1 month my rig will pay of and then it's FREE MONEY :D

To sum up, it was a great experience to build a mining rig. I already built 2 PC's so I knew how everything works. If you're a complete noob, just read some articles on the web if you also wan't to build one.
But currently I wouldn't recommend building an altcoin mining rig because everybody does it which leads to a GPU shortage. Also, don't use a Nvidia Tesla C2050 for mining for the reason that it needs 200 watts for 8MH/s, which is really bad if you have to pay electricity. I only built this rig, because I already had the GPUs and I wanted to build something, otherwise I wouldn't have done it.

I hope you like the post :D Do you want more?

@jbp

Sort:  

wow, kinda makes me wanna start mining

Nice to hear :D

Nice post! I too am going to start mining soon. Isn't it exciting, i think so. I'm waiting for my mobo then i get to get started mining as well. Thanks for your share!

nice! I look forward to a post :D

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by jbp | J from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Cryptopay - ORDER BITCOIN DEBIT CARD and Wallet with advantages 😃 NFC 2.5 $ iphone https://steemit.com/card/@happycoin/cryptopay-order-bitcoin-debit-card-and-wallet-with-advantages 😎

This is clear and blatant advertising, take your shill shit somewhere else. Flagging.

Dope post very informative I have Resteemed 🙏

Thank you :D

inspiring! u make me wanna build my own cheap rig!

Do it!

It's great you can run this and not pay for the electricity and earn just by mining. But why you don't need to pay the electricity? I think you will so surprised when you wake up or check steemit, seeing you already have a lot of upvotes here lol.

It happened to me. And

lol, so many upvotes :O What a feeling!!

So, I don't need to pay for electricity because my father owns a big server room and I can just put my miner there. They have a special contract for electricity and my father said that I don't need to pay any electricity. I hope you understand that :D

I know right? Such a good feeling to be surprised and seeing so many upvotes lol. Keep it up!

Ok I understand @jbp lol.

Can your father adopt me as well then.......so I can build rigs to stick in his server room!

Hehe, ofc I also can't use too much power from his server room xD

Nice Build for sure. But is it really still worth it to mine?

Yeah, currently it's still worth even if you have to pay for electricity. But I don't need to pay for electricity so it's always worth for me :D

Great post. Followed for updates

Thanks :D

Wow, you are very talented.

Thank you!

Nice work! And good for you,you dont need to pay electricity .
Thanks for sharing .
Upvoted/followed!

Thanks a lot!

Nice job mate, good luck with the mining.

Awesome rig. Want to make one myself. Resteemed

Nice! Let's go :D

For anyone concerned about electric costs, look at DASH, their costs to mine are much lower and daily reward is higher than ETH and ETC according to coinwarz.com. Great post by the way :-D

Interesting, I'm going to take a look! Thanks :D

Thank.. I even not have that rig...

You could build one? :D

Nice, Im doing cloudmining with hashflare right now but i might try do this myself!

How does your long-term profit looks like?

i started mining yesterday on dragonmining, i bought 3.49 Mh/s for U$100 , that's all I could afford at the moment, seems i get $0.62 every 24hours, you can check results here https://steemit.com/crypto/@marcques/cloud-mining-expanse-dragonmining-day-1

Brill post thank you for sharing. Hoping to build my own some time.

Start as soon as possible!

Hey man, excellent guide on building a rig, I am curious however why you chose to go with WINFAIL for your OS, any particular reason?

I choosed Windwos 7 because I'm using NVidia and a AMD card. I thought they would function better on win7.

Nice work man.

I appreciate it :)

is rentable for you?

Yeah, it is because I don't need to pay for electricity at all.

oh undestand , nice rewards!

Thankyou for sharing this @jbp UPVOTED! maybe you can upvote and look at our blog and leave us a few reviews? takes a second. Will appreciate it :) and help us alot in our cause Here is my article about crypto :

https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@haky-speaks/is-cryptocurrency-going-to-crash-is-it-a-good-thing

Nice rig. I've been seeing people use wood frames a lot, is this due to the ease of construction or cheaper materials?

Yeah, wood is cheap and you can easily build something with it. So it's perfect for a rig!

Good to know. Thanks!

Very nice work!! Keep posting things like this :D Thanks for sharing bro

I try to keep it up! :D

Nearly sent me into rig-amortis!

Great looking rig, clean and tidy. Good job and fantastic article.

Thank you :D

Nice work ... thank you for sharing. Planning to build a rig myself when those new GPUs come out.

Okay, cool! When do they get released?

Congratulations @jbp! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Good rig! I'm saving for a custom rig too! I will also do the wooden frame alone, as I don't even know where people get like miner cases haha! I know you said you don't have to pay for electricity, but would you mind telling me the power consumption of your rig? :D

It uses 550 watts with 2 gpus currently.

Nice rig! Its nice to see that you can take advantage of not paying for electricity.

Yes, it's great that I don't need to pay electricity!

A very ingenious device must be considered an efficient cooling system

I have no extra cooling! Only the stock coolers on the gpus

yeah, thats real good. money without working. in case you pay the electricity yourself than it is not with it. thanks for sahainr and upvoted

cool rig

Thanks man :D

True Flip {ICO} - Already running a transparent blockchain lottery! Bomb! Bonus 20%! Hurry! :)
The platform is already working and making a profit :)
https://steemit.com/ico/@happycoin/true-flip-ico-already-running-a-transparent-blockchain-lottery-bomb-bonus-20-hurry

Only 27$? What GPU do you have?
I don't need to pay for electricity because my father owns a big server room and I can just put my miner there. They have a special contract for electricity and my father said that I don't need to pay any electricity. I hope you understand that :D