7 Coins in 7 Days: Day 2 Populous

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago

populous cover.jpg

For a quick intro to this segment see my blog post here: https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@jrob238/7-coins-in-7-days-intro

Today we will be taking a look at Populous or PPT. I chose this coin for today simply because I had never heard of it. What better reasoning right?

  • CoinMarketCap
    pptmarketcap.PNG
    At the time of this writing, PPT has a valuation of $2billion, a going rate of about $55, just under an $8million 24h volume, and a circulating supply of 37million. These ratings put it just shy of the top 20 coming in at number 21. Looking at this alone I like the numbers personally. I especially like the fact that it seems to be holding up well against BTC in this current bear market, only down 0.07%.

  • Website - https://populous.co/index.html
    I found the Populous website to be very simple, yet professional. Lots of good information available right on the homepage. I also immediately learned that Populous is a way of purchasing or selling debts. The idea is common practice already in today's market. Companies typically sell off debts owed to them to third parties for a cheaper rate. Those third parties then go after the debtor to collect the original balance owed. The Populous system moves that process to the blockchain and eliminates a third-party service providing the additional benefits of security you get with chain technology. A quick description from the website below.

Invoice finance is a form of funding that instantly unlocks the cash tied up in outstanding sales invoices. Business owners allow invoice buyers to buy invoices at a discounted rate in order to unlock their cash quicker. Once invoices are paid by the invoice debtor, the invoice buyer receives the amount previously agreed upon. Populous uniquely connects business owners with invoice buyers on a global scale by leveraging the security, transparency, and speed of Blockchain via XBRL data, Altman Z-score formula, smart contracts and stable fiat-pegged tokens. We will disrupt the traditional invoice financing system by eliminating the need for third parties or financial institutions by connecting businesses with global invoice buyers directly.

  • Whitepaper - https://populous.co/populous_whitepaper.pdf
    The Populous whitepaper was last updated in December of 2017, so it's fairly recent. It is very well written and organized with loads of useful information. They go into to great detail about every aspect of their process and even off formulas on how they determine their factors. It was surprisingly easy to read and I believe that even the less technically inclined will be able to follow this whitepaper.

  • Number of Exchanges
    pptexchanges.PNG

PPT is available on several popular exchanges with most of it volume running through Binance. This is a huge plus for me as I love me some Binance.

  • Charts
    pptchart.PNG
    The chart for PPT is interesting but limited. I used the PPT/BTC data from binance and it only goes back to December of 2017. I would guess that is probably when the coin was listed. There are also some very long wicks in both directions that immediately caught my attention. I am by far an expert chart reader, but I wonder if there isn't some whale activity going on that's influencing that. It's speculative at best. Other than that the trend has been good and acting as expected during this bear market.

  • News
    Not much in the form of news for PPT. I did find an article talking about it being the leading altcoin during the current crash. Other than that its pretty silent on google for PPT. In a last-ditch effort to find some kind of news I went to Twitter and found that they actually had an Airdrop recently around the same time as one of those really long wicks on the chart. That has the potential to explain that.

News article link -https://www.newsbtc.com/2018/01/31/asian-trading-roundup-leading-altcoin-moment-populous/
Twitter airdrop - ppttwit.PNG

  • Final Thoughts
    I like the service Populous is bringing to the table and see a very real use for it. I could imagine that was crypto and blockchain tech gains popularity there will be a good sized market for this. This will be a coin I will keep an eye on and wait to buy in until it corrects a little more. I don't feel I have enough historical data right now to really make a decision. The data I do have gives me the gut feeling that it will fall more before it starts to climb again. I could be wrong, I usually am. Should you buy PPT, I can't say for sure. I am not a financial advisor after all.
Sort:  

Congratulations @jrob238! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @jrob238! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!