You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Offline

I see Bitcoin (and Steem) as technological experiments and as such Bitcoin is very important as it is the longest living and the ones where many faults were first detected. As a real currency I doubt that it will be the one that will go mainstream, but it will maybe become a bit like gold because of its scarcity principle.

Scarcity is not meant for the masses but for the already rich so I agree that things like Steem is much better and more democratic. That said this is all in the baby-age and I consider it all to be promising but volatile and erratic. The cynical part of me (about 88.9 %) sees a future where the national banks take over big parts of the crypto-market.

Sort:  

Yep I agree on that bitcoin could be maximum gold, but a currency... I am 99% sure that it can't happen. It wouldn't be practical, because the fixed amount of supply (the scarcity) will keep the price rising.

Haha most crypto evangelists would be sad if cryptos build be in the hands of banks. I think at first it will be taken over by the banks, and maybe in the far future let's say 30 to 40 years from now, we may move on to a decentralized currency.

BTC will never be a day to day currency, that you use to buy your over priced $6 coffee at SBUX