You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: POLONIEX is basically BROKEN these days. How long until people stop using it?

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago

Had the same issue the other day but reloaded and went away. I don't trade much though. Just trying to withdraw what I already have.

It might not be an investment problem per say but rather a problem with the architecture. Usually these sites are build upon a core (an old one in our case) and it becomes quire difficult to fix issues once layers upon layers are build upon. The patchwork doesn't seem to cut it in our case.

As far as becoming no.1, I think it has to do a lot with the design. It is much superior than bittrex's. People usually go for the eye candy. Also, I believe these problems occured as of recently when the traffic spiked. Perhaps they were not ready to handle such a massive market (although their stature should have provided them enough by now to do so).

Sort:  

Yes! As I write this, there are ~36,700 users online at poloniex seeking info, placing orders, sells, lending etc and ALOT of money trading hands. While I want to see added servers carry the load to make everything smooth as butter, there is a security component that must be handled properly and carefully.

See their recent statement: https://poloniex.com/press-releases/2017.05.16-Industry-growth-and-its-effect-on-Poloniex/

That statement is BS. They have had the same issues for 3 years. Also it does not explain why withdrawals are frozen.

Thank for this. Pretty solid explanation. Especially when one comes across the DDoS hell

Has been happening for the last 3 years every time the traffic spikes. I think it probably is an architectural issue but they have had more than enough time to fix it.

Indeed. I guess they are busy making way too much money. They might even think that is best if they lose some customers :D

I think it is the old joke of "I spent it all on hookers and blow" ;)