Raspberry Pi Magi Coin miner?

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago

Looking for help here. I stumbled upon this post about using a Raspberry Pi 2 to mine for Magi Coins. I remembered a I got my kids a Raspberry Pi 3 for Christmas. They haven't played with it for six months now, so I thought I'd give it a shot even though I'm a total noob when it comes to Linux.

IMG_1893.PNG

24 hours later, I'm no closer to mining coins than when I started. Anyone know where I can find more detailed instructions for a Pi 3 Magi Coin mining?

Sort:  

I think that you would get about 5h/s CPU mining but if you have a lot of these it could add up not sure about cost of power to coin mined. but i would look into a Debian linux. and run a miner like minergate <--- "I have heard bad things but still use" then you could mine multi CPUs. i don't pay for my electicv. but i run it on 2 tablets 2 computers and a phone. and I'm getting about 7 cents aday. i know thats not much. but it is free money that just runs

I found Rokos Flavors OS for Raspberry Pi that is built for altcoin mining. I think I'm going to mine Transfercoin and see what happens.

Yea, I would go into it like a hobby, find a coin you believe in and save them till you have the value you want. Might take 20 yrs or next week. But just have fun.

Hey, when you get it up and running please let me know, what hash rate you get. I looked at the OS and now I want to try it.

I am quite sure that it is no longer possible to mine BTC on Raspberry Pi's, due to the limited video memory on these board. Currently, 4Gb is needed at minimum, I have read.

Congratulations @libertyrex! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!