You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Did You Know You're Part of a Financial War?

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago

I enjoyed reading The Diamond Age and watched the Transcendence movie (though I hear the book is better, I still really enjoyed the movie). I get where you're coming from, and I don't think you're wrong just possibly premature. Time will always be a scarce resource. There will always be inequality because there will always be different ambitions and different levels of commitment regarding time spent working vs. time spent in leisure. I don't see that ever changing. Money is just a token on a shared ledger of understanding for who is providing value to others. At least, that's what sound money is supposed to be. Those who rail against money, I think, are really railing against the distortion of money and how separated it is from what humans actually value via government and central bank monopoly control.

Even in a 3D printed world, our expectations will change, as they always have. People believed cars, washing machines, dish washers, etc would create so much leisure that people wouldn't need to work anymore but instead we chose new things to work on. We're always creating. We're not a static species. We'll be working to build communities on Mars and beyond, if we survive long enough.

until literally anything you want can be made to order at no cost.

I don't see this ever being a reality within our lifetimes because that level of production and consumption would quickly destroy the planet we need to live on. You said "services" but then said create. Not everything we pay for is a physical thing that can be created or bought. Much of the economic activity in the world is service based and AI's are making great progress there, but are still a ways out.

I like the Star Trek dream of no money and no markets but every attempt at it on a large scale so far has lead to massive amounts of human suffering. On the small scale, I think we're starting to see sustainable communities live out what you're describing, and I think it's a beautiful thing we can all learn something from.