Wallet advice.....

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago (edited)

Hello guys and girls,

Hoping you wonderful people can help solve some problems.

I am looking for a secure wallet for my Ethereum and Siacoin. I understand how the whole wallet thing works however with these two I am struggling to set my wallets up. NEM has a beautifully simple and easy to set up wallet - I feel my XEM is safe in it.

Lets start with Eth. I downloaded the Ethereum wallet from the official website and installed it without any issues until trying to actually use it. It states its syncing with the block change and has never managed to get passed 5% progress. When I turn it off and restart it the progress has returned to a big fat 0%. I left it on twice for circa 20hrs with little joy. What am I doing wrong?

As for Siacoin, Ive had a similar experice however the syncing process is up to about 50% after roughly 48hrs.

What do you reckon I am doing wrong / need to change to fix my problem?

Thanks for any help in advance

Sort:  

Hi Michaelandgaby, I actually just did a post on one of my favorite wallets but it doesn't support Sia but does support Eth if your interested. Take a look and decide if its for you or not.

Thanks for your reply. Ive had a look - I had spotted that one before but for some reason passed it by. I'll give it another looks now. Thanks for your help :)

just a quick update - I now have all my Ethereum in the Exodus wallet - thanks for the heads up :)

Im glad it helped! Hope you enjoy using it as much as I do. When i receive my ledger I will do a review on it but I believe having more than one wallet is good, you just never know.

Have you tried coinomi for mobile wallets ? Though for more secure transactions I'd go for a ledger. I don't know if they integrate siacoin yet though. Have a look at them. Hardware is the best.

good man, thanks for the advice, I'll take a look

Try to delete everything from ethereum wallet, somewhere in appdata. And try to download it again, it should work. For Sia, the synchronization is very slow, but in their roadmap they have planned to make it faster! A lot of other crypto's had that problem aswel!

thanks man, will try that

Congratulations @michaelandgaby! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!