My Cryptocurrency Adventure

BiteMyCoin-Cryptocurrency.png
Monero, Bytecoin, Ethereum. I tried to mine many cryptocurrencies with my gtx 1050 ti, and none have proved to be worth wasting the lifetime of what little hardware I have. This is not to say cryptocurrency mining is not profitable, but to say that with the wrong hardware, you will be wasting your time mining, and you would be better off trading in the exchanges or upgrading your hardware to try again. To anyone with weaker hardware, I encourage you to find ways to earn cryptocurrency that do not involve mining, as you can be losing money if your electricity costs more than what your computer is mining. Personally, I will be using Steemit (and possibly Dtube in the future) in order to earn cryptocurrency.

I have a great interest in where cryptocurrencies and the technology behind them will go and what they will do to our world. How will daily life change in a world of decentralization and true freedom? Will we pay for our groceries and other products using steem, or another of the non-volatile digital currencies? I believe that there is a great deal of potential for digital currencies and the underlying technologies that power them.

Sort:  

Can you tell us a little more about what your experience was and at what hardware level you think it would begin being worth your time?

I used various mining software, from one click solutions like minergate and awesome miner or computta, to more complex miners like claymore. The underlying issue with what I was doing was my hardware. A gtx 1050 ti simply doesn't have enough power to be profitable against the electricity cost. I think that unless you have a gtx 1060 equivalent or higher, it wouldn't be worthwhile to mine. If you're serious about mining, and you aren't just doing it on the side, I would use an amd card like the rx 580 or greater. Even multiple cards can be a good idea. Alot of things will depend on your position and how electricity costs scale where you're mining.

Congratulations @mistertechguy01! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I agree that you have good earnings at Dtube. But I can not login to the Dtube.

I've been having some trouble logging into Dtube as well, any idea what's going on?