What coins to hold? What coins will survive? Coins Reddit, Bitcointal users, funds like.

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago (edited)

Hello guys :-) In this post I want to bring some interesting information about altcoins. The number of altcoins in these days are really huge, already more than 800 and new ones coming every day (see pic below). Also the amount of money in all crypto is astonishing – $101,305,081,598.

However, most of coins are really "shitcoins" which have no future. Some of them you can identify by their name, sometimes even funny names, e.g. Sexcoin, PizzaCoin, PonziCoin, TitCoin, AntiBitcoin, AntiLitecoin, GAY Coin, Woodcoin, Nyancoin, Kitteh Coin, PutinCoin, MetalCoin, TrumpCoin, Potato Coin, Vgina... :-D

It implicates that make your own coin is not realy hard these days and sometimes ppl are even buying it no matter wheter it has some potential and utility or it is completly useless.

These facts means sometimes it is hard to pick some good coin to invest especially for newbies. The most important thing is to do your own research and decide in which coin you will be believe while you use critical thinking and your overall knowledge about crypto.

I decided to do some analysis which doesn't aim to tell you which coin you should invest or is the best, but rather to tell you, what coins are popular among other ppl and in which you can focus etc. Because often ppl propagate coins with the aim of make other ppl to invest to them because they have done so and want to increase their value. So before you invest always make your own research and do not use this "analysis" alone for some essential decisions. :)

Reddit



The first graph is based on this thread, where ppls are talking about what coins are they holding and why. The most mentioned coins are: Ethereum, Siacoin, AntShares, GridCoin and Litecoin. The data goes up to 14 days to the past.

BitcoinTalk



Data for this graph come frome this thread on BitcoinTalk, where ppls discuss coins with best chances to survive in future. Most metioned are Ethereum, Ripple, Litecoin, Dogecoin and Monero. Data come from June to today.

Funds


Last point of view on altcoins can be from perspective of funds, which diverse their portfolio among altcoins they consider as most profitable. I have no experience with them and these are which I randomly found on internet - SatoshiFund and Bit20. So don't consider this as some recomendation to invest in it rather some interesting point of view.

Bellow are their actual crypto portofilos including btc.

Satoshi Fund


BitTwenty


We can see two different strategies between these two funds – SatoshiFund portfolio includes newer coin, while Bit20 relies on more estabilished coins.


So as I wrote above - use all of these graphs wisely and with some critical thinking. It is not made for some serious decision. And what's my portfolio? Now I am partialy out of crypto and I planning to enter it fully again after 1st August. Now I'm holding only DigiByte, ReddCoin, Siacoin, Stratis, Nxt and Verge - all of them only smaller amounts. I had also Litecoin and it is still my big favorit for future. Fell free to share in comments your favorite coins.


I still consider myself as begginer in crypto world so take my opinions with reserve :)

Hope you like this post, I would be pleased to see some votes or new follows. See you later :)

Sort:  

The fact verge or ubiq is not represented here tells me your research was not very thorough. These are all the most mainstream of all coins, which I do agree... shit coins have no future, but there is a future in some of the underdogs which may be more exciting than the current mainstream coins. I will follow you, since we share interests. Looking forward to future posts my friend.

Yes, I agree. This is not based on deep research but only on some discussion threads including two fund's portfolios. So it is really shallow. This post should be considered only as some interesting info not for serious conclusions. Thanks anyway :) I follow you too.

Very good post. Same mindset here. The popularity of the cryptos is currently determined by the biggest group of uneducated investors in man kind. It's an interesting world we live in. This is quite an interesting website I found: https://www.coincheckup.com Since I use this site I make so much less basic investment mistakes. For example: https://www.coincheckup.com/coins/Nxt#analysis To see the: Nxt Detailed analysis