Sort:  

It will be similiar to the dot com bubble. Some of the new ICO's (Initial Coin Offerings (New coins)) will just fall flat, and others will change the world. Think of it like this. Some will be the new facebook, microsoft, google, amazon, tesla..., and some will be like pets.com.

If you don't know what pets.com was, people invested in it due to the name, but because it had no real purpose other than the name, after a while it crashed hard.

All in all, I think we have barely hit the tip of the ice berg. in 10-20 years, crypto will be essentially an open source, harder to manipulate (possible, but harder) stockmarket

I agree, will be just like the internet bubble. I am trying to figure out which ones to be positioned in now that will be the Intels, Microsofts and Amazons, and not the Pets as you said or Fogdog.coms. I am limiting my ownership to mostly top ten market caps for now until I learn more.

Top 10 isn't necessarily the best. I would say anything that is an ethereum contract has a very good chance of going far (although some don't).

To find ethereum contracts, go to "https://coinmarketcap.com/assets/views/all/" and search by platform. You can see the ones that have the highest market cap

Agreed, it is not necessarily the best, it is just the strategy I am employing for now. I have extensive experience with the similar beta profile mining stocks. Currently with those, I see no reason to invest in the really speculative exploration companies when the better mid size miners are so undervalued.
Maybe I am letting that strategy cloud my thought in the crypto world, but I think the gains in the better cryptos for me will be satisfactory for now. I do really like your point about the Ethereum based plays. I will look into that more carefully, thank you for pointing that out.