Why is the whole crypto market in the red? What all this red means in the markets is this...

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago (edited)

not a damn thing...IF... you're an investor and in for the long haul. I believe in cryptocurrency and what it represents and the problems it can solve. I believe in Steemit for those same reasons. A trader worries about the day to day pricing, an investor looks at the long term growth potential of any asset.

I just touched on this in another post, and I'll reiterate it here.

The markets are an enigma. They always have been and always will be. My grandfather told me long ago, that any financial decision backed by emotion, is a foolish one. Yet markets ride the waves of emotion up and down. In short, doing the opposite of what the mob is doing is almost always the best solution. Patience is always the best approach. It can be quite difficult at times, but this is not a sprint, it's a marathon.

A quote from Warren Buffet comes to mind, “If you are not willing to own a stock for 10 years, do not even think about owning it for 10 minutes.” I think most of us are in it for the long haul, so the bi-polar actions of the market today should not sway us, for we know where we'll be in the future. That's what I believe Steemit is, an investment in the future.

investinyourfuture.png

I was taught to look at my portfolio twice a year. Once at the end of July and once at the end of January. July is usually the best time to add to your positions and January is the best time to sell any assets you're not in for the long term. I was taught this when I was young and the same advice holds true today. Don't even try to figure it out, you'll drive your self crazy and lose a lot of sleep.

Steem is simply on sale today, to me, that is a very good thing. Have a great day and try to enjoy the fact that if you're reading this, you're one of the first adopters of Steemit. That's enough to put a smile on your face right there! :)

(Disclaimer: This is by no means to be used as financial advice. I am an amateur investor and these views are my opinions only.)

image source
image source

Useful Websites for Steemit Newcomers

https://steemd.com
https://Steemnow.com
https://steemdollar.com
https://steemwhales.com

Like this article? UPVOTE!
Want more articles from me? FOLLOW!
Do other people need to hear this? RESTEEM!

Sort:  

Love the Warren Buffet quote, thanks for sharing! Now I just need to go dig up some fiat and take advantage of this sale!

Thank you! I think you'll have some better opportunities before the month is out on the sale. Don't think we've seen the low yet.

Could not agree more!! I'm in it for what Steem will be worth in 10 years, not today or tomorrow! upvoted and resteemed!

Hello Orionschariot,
I am @digital-gypsy - nice to meet you !

Do you use @booster ?

I just started a discussion on "do we need more control or regulation on businesses on steemit" ?!
On the basis of my experience with @booster i would love to have a discussion on that topic and would be happy you give me your opinion about !

P.S. I don't need an upvote, but hope in a fruitfull discussion as I think that is an important topic
Take care Orionschariot

This comment has received a 0.11 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @digital-gypsy.

Good advice. I am also from the same school of thought. When stocks are down, it's time to build up my portfolio.
I just got a great deal on Ethereum today for 166€ per token.

Thank you. Today was a good day to add to positions. There might more days like today in the near future.

It's not just steemit that is on sale mate! But personally I see market dropping more in the coming days

Yep, sale across the board. I do also.

Good points. Thanks for the Steemit links at the bottom of your article.

Thank you and you're most welcome!

A trader worries about the day to day pricing, an investor looks at the long term growth potential of any asset.

EXCELLENT point.

Yep, the only thing watching the markets daily will do is give you an ulcer.

DAILY?
I have a steem-ticker on my second monitor constantly.