You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Crypto-Anarchism: Dreamer's Utopia or New Order of the Future (English/Turkish)

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago (edited)

@abbernard Thanks for earlier reply and putting me straight on the value function of a fixed supply currency. I fully accept what you mean about the value soaring if uptake rises rapidly (for example if Amazon starts accepting Bitcoin.) I also agree that the potential exists that we will adapt to the new reality when the estimated 47% of jobs in the workplace disappear over the next decade. I think blockchain, decentralised ledgers could play a part in this. However most of these will be white rather than blue collar. However, sadly, I don't share your optimism about reduced inequality or reduced poverty. I believe we will be led towards a Universal Income Guarantee in the absence of anything approaching full employment. I believe unemployment will be running at about 40%. Here in the UK we have seen its pilot in the form of Universal Credit. This has exacerbated poverty and inequality with an increasing use in food banks, more evictions, rising homelessness worse health outcomes and, for the first time in modern history, rising death rates. What we will get is more of the same I'm afraid.