You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Crypto Board Game Idea

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago

I would be happy to assist you with the tabletop game mechanics (which happens to be one of my stronger suits). I am reasonably confident that I'd be able to sway you from making the game part-digital (its not a bad thing - but it does add a component dependency on interfacing with technology).

Incidentally I think your game idea sounds interesting (and has potential). :c)

Sort:  

I think I'd prefer non-digital, but not sure how practical that might be?

You could combine event cards and dice-generated randomization to provide as crazy of a ride as you'd like - without digitsal assistance.

Have some cryptos be less or more volatile than others - perhaps more or less susceptible to those event cards - and have multiple win conditions.

I personally would suggest rethinking the board design unless you have a very clear idea of how the arrows will play into the game. Maybe instead there would be player matts and a central matt representing general affairs.

Incidentally - have you ever heard of The Game Crafter? ^_~

I guess I hadn't considered that not all currencies need to move every turn (which would stop the game flowing), so what you're saying sounds like it should work, yes.

I very much doubt this game idea will be developed unless somebody else likes and wants to use it (or part of it), as I have lots of software development ideas that I'm better able to implement, but I do like board games.

I hadn't seen thegamecrafter.com, it looks useful. The 3D printing of tokens might also be cost effective for a game prototype. I've done some of that in the past, using https://www.tinkercad.com/ for designing things quickly.

As one you recently spent around 12 hours (following a failed digital initiative) churning out a respectable tabletop game using nothing more than paper (& MS word ) & whatever bits I had in my bits case (I'm a little serious - but symbolic standins work at this level), I can tell you that you don't need TGC for the first prototypes. :c)

Tinkercad looks interesting. Thanks for sharing. :c)