A Bitcoin Fork? No... It's Bitcoin FourK!

Was the Bitcoin Cash hard fork a threat to Bitcoin? Not at all! Last weekend the result of the Bitcoin Fork became a Bitcoin FourK. Bitcoin breached $4,000 USD yesterday and has set a new all-time high of $4,228 on Bitstamp today! :-)

Meanwhile, Steem is 3.8% down again today and is currently the biggest loser in the top 30 cryptocurrencies over the last 7 days. Is Steem being undervalued? I think a rank of #23 is way too low for such a great digital currency. Besides Steem, I also think about selling some of my Bitcoin for SBD (Steem Backed Dollars). If I buy SBD at 0.000215 BTC on Bittrex I actually sell BTC for a price of $4,651 SBD. A great Bitcoin price to take some profits in my opinion :)

24 Hour Change

7 Day Change

Month-to-Date Change

Market Capitalization

Feel free to use and share my charts, but please mention me as the author.

Latest Crypto News - August 14, 2017

Bitcoin vaults to new record above $4K, boosted by Japan and multiplying its value fourfold

The digital currency bitcoin vaulted to a new record high above $4000 on Saturday, boosted by strong Japanese demand on its way to multiplying its value fourfold this year.
Read more: cnbc.com

Bitcoin Surges Past $4,000 on Speed Breakthrough

Bitcoin soared past $4,000 for the first time on growing optimism faster transaction times will hasten the spread of the cryptocurrency.
Read more: bloomberg.com

NEO Blockchain Overtakes Litecoin, Snags Top 5 Position With $2.4B Market Cap

NEO, coined as the “Chinese Ethereum,” has taken over the #5 position, edging out Litecoin, NEM and IOTA. Taking a look at the 24-hours volume below, we can see NEO has also traded the most over the past 24-hours besides Bitcoin and Ethereum, who usually win.
Read more: medium.com

Nvidia to Focus More on Cryptocurrency Mining Market

In the wake of record-setting growth for digital currencies like Bitcoin and Ethereum, graphics card manufacturer Nvidia has expressed their intent to focus more on the cryptocurrency mining market.
Read more: bitcoinist.com

Why Schnorr signatures will help solve 2 of Bitcoin’s biggest problems today

If you ask anyone in the Bitcoin space what the biggest challenge for Bitcoin is, you will likely hear the answer “scalability”.
Read more: medium.com

Bitcoin Exchange Bitfinex Discontinuing Services to U.S. Customers

The Hong Kong-based bitcoin trading platform has announced it is immediately leaving retail market in the United States because of challenging regulatory environment.
Read more: coinspeaker.com

More sources:

Bitcoin Will Soon Beat PayPal’s Market Cap, Approaches $70 bln

Bitcoin has nearly passed the market cap of PayPal for the first time, the latest statistics from the industry confirm. In what Colu’s Udi Wertheimer called the “real Flippening,” Bitcoin’s market cap at press time was almost $68 bln, compared to PayPal’s $70 bln.
Read more: cointelegraph.com

‘Buy Bitcoin’ Sign Appears During DOTA International Tournament

Bitcoin made an unplanned appearance at the most recent DOTA (Defense of the Ancients) International Tournament, as an audience member held up a ‘Buy Bitcoin’ sign during announcements of the televised event.
Read more: cointelegraph.com

Nvidia CEO: Cryptocurrencies Are 'Here to Stay'

Nvidia's CEO is bullish on cryptocurrencies following Q2 sales figures that were boosted by GPU sales to miners.
Read more: coindesk.com

India’s Bitcoin Market is Growing, Admits Finance Minister Jaitley

As Indian authorities ponder a regulatory framework for the future of digital currencies in the country, India’s foremost financial official has remarked about the growing popularity and adoption of bitcoin.
Read more: cryptocoinsnews.com

$1000 USD invested in Bitcoin in July 2010 would now be worth $80 million!


Image source


¯\___(ツ)____/¯ Don't miss out on my next post! Follow me @penguinpablo

Sort:  

Buying SBD might not be a bad idea. If the witnesses decide to raise the interest rate it should trend back towards $1.
(not investment advice etc!)

That's what I think too :)

Help me @penguinpablo!!!!
I'm completely off topic, but the bottom section of steemnow is not working today and I am lost without it! I use the wonderful filter there on "latest posts" to find many things throughout the days - now that section is blank and I am lost lost lost!

I love steemnow and keep it open all day. I am an addict without my fix. Please help me...

Sometimes the steemd server is a bit slow. I have no problems at this moment with the 'latest posts' section. Does it work correctly again on your side too?

Yes - It's been great since my last comment. Thank you so much. What a time saver :)

Thank you! It's back and my brain is free. Do not make me look out there again! I really love steemnow and cannot do well here without it :)

I voted for the 3-4 witnesses who advocate the interest rate increase. I got this advice over the weekend and added my voice to hope they will do it. I am not too knowledgeable about this, but I saw the advice a few times, so decided to add my minnow voice to the effort.

The title is a good one! :))

Yes, i think too that steem is currently undervalued. But it's a good idea to buy SBD at this time. And i think that's the witnesses should review the interest rate to 5% to encourage steemians to save SBD and bring it back towards $1.

jsblokland jeroen blokland tweeted @ 14 Aug 2017 - 05:35 UTC

Good #bitcoin Monday! USD 1000 invested in bitcoin in July 2010 would now be worth USD 80 million! https://t.co/YxkOIaMlfH

Disclaimer: I am just a bot trying to be helpful.

Nice word game :)

BTC probably will go even more in future
btw steem let's hope it will go up by in future

thanks for share nice information @penguinpablo ..

Dropping to 23rd place has my interest . We were in 15 in June when I signed on . I hope undervalued is the only problem .

Good info. I will follow

Love your title.. love these times too .. :)

imagination ---> high price
bitcoin > all altcoins now
How about the future imagination of STEEM?

nice to see these graphs again.. can't wait for when you put them online in realtime ! amazing to see bitcoin soaring and bitcoincash holding onto a solid 3 digit price in the £250 range . 100% upvote ! with my new magical minnowbooster SP :) NEOCOIN.. formerly antshares, there's one to watch, I think it will take to triple digits by August End.. just a humble prediction.. steem has so much saturation and love behind it, it will become a household name soon! facehuggers and instaspammers will flock in their millions.. that's when it will get interesting.. will it hold up or will you end up having to buy in with a minimum amt of steem so that the rewards payout doesn't get spread too thin ?? aloud thinking

appreciate you ! done good work

BTC is ticking bomb rn

Haha

Bitcoin FourK

Pretty Cool

HODL

Steemit....goes back to that old saying . Just a ponzi scheme that benefits the ones in the top.

Probably a good call to buy Steem against BTC. I did this yesterday as well, should have waited i guess. but in any case i see steem making a jump of 20% a hell of a lot easier than BTC atm.

haha your title alone deserves an upvote

Thank you for your information.
Please follow me back :)

The rewards are allocated so that 75% of the payout goes to the author of the post/comment, and 25% goes to the curator.
Of the 25% that goes to the curator, that portion will be split between the author and the curator if the curator votes within the first 30 minutes. The split of the 25% between the author and curator during the first 30 minutes is calculated linearly based on the time the vote is cast.
• If a post is upvoted the moment of posting, 100% of the curation reward goes to the author.
• At 3 minutes, 90% goes to the author and 10% to the curator.
• At 15 minutes, it's a 50/50 split.
• At 27 minutes, 10% goes to the author and 90% to the curator.
• If a post is upvoted 30 min after posting, 100% of the curation reward goes to the curator.

Haha! Great title!
I sold at 4k! D*mn
I'm a mannequin and I still have to learn a lot!
Big hug
Steemitri The Mannequin

Thank you this information...

At this rate BTC will hit 30k before DOW does!!

I award you a doff of the cap for the title good sir. Well done.