πŸ†˜ BEWARE OF THIS SCAM! I LOST ALL MY TOKENS!

in #cryptocurrency β€’ 7 years ago (edited)

There is a new type of scam spreading on slack. I am a victim of it.

scam.jpg


I fell for this dumb scam.

The link in the e-mail is myetherwallet.com.co. I was so surprised by this e-mail, I didn't even check the URL.
Right after I tried to log in on the fake page, I noticed it was a scam and check the sub reddit of BAT. There was already a post of it, but while I tried to transfer my tokens to a new wallet, I lost all of it.


Lesson learned. I'm so mad about it, but it was all my fault.

It's happening on every slack chanel, not on BAT.


RESTEEM THIS POST TO LET PEOPLE KNOW! MAKE SURE YOU WON'T FALL TO THIS LIKE I DID!

Always be aware when logging in.

Sort: Β 

Don't be greedy and you won't lose any money. Period.

"Period." That's settles it then. Greed is the cause of all online mistakes!

what does this type of scam with being greedy have in common?

I don't get it either.

If my Crypto's aren't working for me they're on paper wallets

I only had 1k BAT token (bought on $0.3) in MEW and all my other cryptos are in HW wallet or paper wallet. Regret the moment when I​ was lazy to set it up.

yeah my nem harvester still isn't active

Also @poloniex took my money.

Yeah usually just takes a while they locked up 4 ETH on me for 5 days

Sorry to hear that. With polo atleast you have some chance to get it back sometimes. In my case, I can only blame myself for being so dumb.

agreed

Ooh Realy?

yea...

Thank you for admitting and sharing your mistake with us, hopefully it can help prevent more people from falling for it. Mistakes like not checking the URL are easy to make, and the cost can be high. Resteemed for more visibility!

It is, indeed.. I hate myself now. Only had 1k BAT and bought at $0.3, but still annoying.

The Wheel of Upvotes was randomly spinned for you!
Where did it land?
qq.gif
Congratulations! The upvote is coming straight to your post!
If you like this idea, please upvote this comment or try another spin on the wheel so the project can grow!


I saw your post in the #postpromotion channel on the WhaleShares discord. Thank you for being with us! Sorry for your loss though ragnar! :(

Well, I can only blame myself. Thank you for the upvote.

up voted and resteemed, hopefully this helps to get the attention this post deserves :)

Welcome to steemit. Glad to have you with us. Cheers!

i just read this slack things. is it same as steemit?
i am sorry to hear your lost. but lesson learn.
resteem it.

Slack is for communication like discord. You can contact the devs there.

Always double check the link before entering sensitive information! Always beware.

Unfortunately, learned my lesson.

thank you ragnar

Sorry to hear that.. out of curiosity, how much did you lose?

It's not about the money, more about the feeling how stupid I am. It was close to 1K BAT token, current price is 12 cents, but I bought them around 33-35 cents, so about $350.

Don't feel so bad bro, we're people, we make mistakes, it happens :).

You are right!
On the other hand, ​I'm glad all my other cryptos are paper wallets.

Welcome and Thank You for being with us!! Following your Blog now

Welcome to the community. your introduction was very nice. Followed. Follow me back 😘

Man. So sorry to hear this. Its downright awful.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Ragnar The King from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Thanks for bringing this to our attention. This is very helpful to those that are new to crypto.