Daily Sentiment Analysis: Market withers a bit heading into new week

Plot 1682 (18).png

General reminder: This is one of three types of sentiment analysis I do. The daily analysis will likely only benefit short term traders. The weekly analysis I do is best suited for swing traders. And the monthly analysis is my more long-term offering.


There seems to be a bit more tension in the air than there has been recently.

Volume and enthusiasm dwindled a bit in the Alt market last week, and the rejection of $BTC at $10K seems to be having a psychological impact after so much buildup.

The sentiment on the Alts in particular over the last three days has been the lowest during a half week stretch since early April. A healthy pullback after a roaring April was always likely, but the feeling among the 40 influencers and traders I follow is the least confident its been in a while, which is worth noting.

There isn't anything that jumps out at me in the data just yet, but just wanted to do a quick post and point out the change. We'll see what tomorrow brings. Trade safe.

As always, here's the market data for today:

CoinPositiveNeutralNegativeTotal MentionsPower
BTC23813-6
ETH20022
LTC01010
BCH10011
Alt6012128414*

Alts get -10 penalty with Majors falling below 0

The Influencers

Who am I?

I'm an investigative data journalist during the day, and I've been looking for a way to cut through the noise and get a true sense of what some of the biggest crypto influencers are pushing toward and pulling away from.

Using a pseudonym here because I can't post about this shit on my verified accounts. I've become mildly obsessed with crypto and its constant stream of data and needed an outlet. So here I am.

What is this?

Each week, I scrape the Twitter accounts of some of the crypto world's favorite influencers, traders and TA folk. I run a basic sentiment analysis to see which coins they are mentioning positively, in a neutral way and which they are mentioning in a negative light.

I calculate "power" simply by subtracting negative mentions from positive ones to give an aggregate score. The higher the score, the better, the lower the worse. For the daily rankings, I also create aggregate scores for the majors and the Alt markets. The Alts get a 10 point deduction any time the majors go below zero, since overall the Alt-market has a tough time staying above water when BTC is in a spiral.

This isn't financial advice, just my own way of trying to make sense of what's out there. And as with most things, the more data I collect, hopefully, the more interesting it'll be. This is a work in progress. Please leave suggestions on how to make it better. I imagine if I keep up with it, I'll be able to expand a bunch of the analysis, but I wanted to start somewhere.

Sort:  

Uncomplicated article. I learned a lot of interesting and cognitive. I'm screwed up with you, I'll be glad to reciprocal subscription))