Diary of a Blockchain Fan – November 15th 2021

Polkadot Crowdloan Auctions

Blimey, I hadn’t checked the state of play with the Polkadot auctions for a few days. Seeing how there is the best part of a month still to go before they end, I had decided to limit myself to checking on progress to once a week, which seemed reasonable, especially when there are always plenty of other developments I could be exploring in the land of the blockchain.
20211106_153129_small.jpg

Things have, it is safe to say, moved on somewhat. A huge $3.4billion has been staked so far by people eager to back their favourite projects. And there is now a fierce scrap going on for the number one spot between Acala and Moonbeam, both of which have secured close to 30 million DOT. There’s a big gap to Astar in third with 6.5 million DOT.

It’s quite interesting looking at the level of support projects have judged is necessary in order to win a parachain slot. Whereas Acala have now reached 60% of their cap, Moonbeam have only reached 30% of theirs, which means the latter are targetting a much larger number. Perhaps a sign of their determination to win out.

Some of the projects, such as Efinity and Darwinia, have been a little slower getting out of the blocks and there remains plenty of time for them to start accumulating pledges. It’s certainly not time yet for those out front to start counting any chickens.

I do still have DOT set aside to support one more project but I’m dithering at the moment. I shall continue to dither while I check out in more detail some of the projects I haven’t yet backed and will let you know which one I opt for, assuming I can ever make a decision.

Musical Interlude

I mentioned the other day that my wife was watching a TV show about the best hits of 1972 (or was it 1973?) and this evening my TV based musical accompaniment has been music of the 1980s, which is my favourite musical decade. There was a brief appearance from good old John Peel (indie supporting radio DJ), sadly now long gone from this world. There was also an appearance by the Cocteau Twins. Did you know they made up their own language to use with their songs? Fabulous, eh? I’m old enough to remember listening to them in the 1980s and they still sound great to me now.

I’m getting well off piste here, but I shall close by saying the Pixies have just come on screen and my wife informs me that when she co-ran the student radio programme for BBC Radio Manchester in the mid-eighties, the Pixies did a live set on the show one week. I wonder what they are doing now?

Until tomorrow…

Renaissance Man

Why this Diary?

I thought it might be an interesting exercise, as much for myself as anyone else, to keep a diary of my interests and activities in the land of the blockchain and all things crypto, so I’m going to give it a go at writing a short diary entry each day for the current month, November 2021. It will give me something to look back on and assess and it might offer up some entertainment and topics of interest to anyone who happens to read it.

The Usual Disclaimer

Please don’t take any of the above as financial or investment advice. It is intended to be nothing other than a little entertainment and information sharing. Always, but always, do your own research before committing your money to anything.