Sort:  

Thanks, I'm a newb and I'm just wondering where to set up a wallet and get started, so I guess I'll start with Bittrex...

For a WALLET, I'd recommend Exodus.

General rule of thumb: only use exchanges for trading, then transfer tokens to a wallet.

Great, thanks, I'll check it out

Very interesting read sir. I published a comic strip on Poloniex just yesterday, which fits to your topic. https://steemit.com/deutsch/@puffin/neulich-im-empfangsbereich-von-poloniex-recently-in-the-lobby-of-poloniex

Neulich im Empfangsbereich von Poloniex / Recently in the lobby of Poloniex (ENG translation can be found in the article)

Steem on

lol. great Mario meme.

Cheers, its title is "Eating the Steem Mushroom" :)

ha ha.

Poloniex has been hacked before, its not a safe platform to leave your coins on, so I transferred all my coins from Poloniex to Bittrex which is very safe

Thank you for the useful information provided here. I work but Poloniex and I only trade ETH so I will definately give Bittrex a try now.

yeah... two bucks each time can add up - especially if considering it's likely ETH will eventually rise how much in value...

More awful happening with other users, Poloniex is getting to ponzi scam, Many traders I know had issue on stop-limit on 2017-05-15, lag on website too. Many of them with margin positions got liquidate, Poloniex made official statement on crediting all traders who were affected due to stop-limit issue, asked everyone to open tickets, now it's 4th week running, neither they reply nor issue any credit.

Can you buy in Bittrex with Fiat?

No.

Curious as to whether they might enable such with their upcoming overhaul though...

Thanks for the warning, have you caught a large transfer fee on any other currency at Poloniex?

i prefer bittrex because it has all the tools needed for technical analysis and these tools provide great insight when you are day trading

Hey nice post. In general people should use bittrex over poloniex any time. The owners of bittrex are security experts.

Thank you for this info. I am brand new and was going to set up a wallet on Coinbase until I read some articles here on Steemit. Looks like I will be opening a wallet at Bittrex

only use either for trading. for just storage, use an actual wallet like Exodus

got it thank you.

I couldn't agree more! Definitely a must after what happened with Polo. If you get the chance you should upvote my latest post on Steemit about the rising price of Steem and how it just hit $1.50 a coin! Thanks! :) https://steemit.com/steem/@parkermorris/steem-hits-usd1-50-a-coin

@rok-sivante Sure i too have worked with Bittrex in 2 weeks now and it's better compared to poloniex

I'm curious to see what it all looks and works like when they go through their upgrade that's supposed to be coming soon...

Thanks for the info. This is good to know about Bittrex.

Thanks for sharing, I've only been on Bittrex and this information was useful!

your welcome.

Thank you very much for sharing, will switch to Bittrex :) Upvoted and resteemed ;) Blessings

Good points but it's only 10K satoshi for BTC on polo and the interest you can earn is great! The speed is nice too just increased my SC holdings by 1% in a minute trade

what is satoshi?

.00000001 Bitcoin

I always use Bittrex, the UI isn't great but I have never had an issue with withdrawls.

how secure is Bittrex compared to Poloniex, which has two factor login requirement. Does Bittrex also have that?

Yes Bittrex allows for 2FA

Thanks for the info, i did not know about Bittrex

In My world every dollar has meaning, especially when a dollar could buy some coins that in the future, go to the moon and beyond hehe
thanks for the post my friend :-)

Hello my friend
Happy day .. Beautiful drawing

Yup reason # 538 why I switched to Bittrex. I left after they went down 3 times in a single week. Been on Bittrex ever since and haven't had a problem ever since. They even get some coins before Poloniex does. Thanks for the post. upvoted resteemed and shared to twitter facebook and linkedin. Can you tell I don't like Poloniex?

chuck approves.jpg

Lol... if there were at least 537 other reasons, I don't blame you... :-)

Hey you know if it were only 536 I would of course still be there but lets face it, it's the 537th reason that really tips the scale.

Didnt Know!!! Thx for the warning bro. There should be an angry button around here

Well costs would be the least problem, compared to the danger of hackers emptying your account or the prospect of closing the whole exchange for whatever reason is much more scary. So I think in general one should not keep more than he can afford to loose on any exchange.

Good to know, thanks for sharing your tip. crazy to think the amount these exchanges are making on transfers. Surely a new system needs to be developed to counter them.

There are a few different decentralized exchange projects in the works and much discussion about more coming soon...

I've used Bittrex for the 3 months i've been trading and just recently got into Poloniex. I never had a problem on Bittrex but on Polo i've had my account locked out for no reason and its been too laggy to use on laptop. IMO both have their place. Poloniex lets you margin trade on the big market cap coins like Ethereum and Ripple. Whenever a new partnership is announced placing a long on one of these is a missed oppurtunity if you don't take it. I also feel Poloniex has a better layout and less distraction from low market cap coins. If I want to invest in a low market cap coin I use my balance on Bittrex but sometimes you get burned trying to chase all pump and dumps going on there and you need a site free from the madness- Polo provides that.

Nice good call. I just always assumed it should be cheap and didn't really notice that it is so overpriced. Following you, follow back if you like some crypto trade ideas

I've been using bittrex for 6 months now and I can only speak good things about them. Reliable, fast tx's ( deposits-withdrawals), easy to use, no trollbox :-), lots of coins, nice volume and overall a perfect experience. I signed up on Polo just for Siacoin and felt pretty lost, much slower than bittrex, withdrawal took hours to be processed plus there were many users complaining about all kinds of stuff happening. Shortly after bittrex added Siacoin, making it the perfect exchange for me. ETH fees cheaper too? Give bittrex a chance if you haven't...Good post!

This was the major reason i migrated my investments from poloniex recently. fees can gtfo