You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Experimental Bitcoin Inspired Projects Built for Hundreds of Thousands of Transactions per Second

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago

This was a cogent piece. I felt you freely handed us a juice slab of your brain and feel enriched by your insights into these three projects. Do you have an idea why IOTA chose a ternary number system?
It is the first I heard of Radix aside from being a cutting early 80s postapocalyptic scfi novel. If it is already deployed succefully commercially it could really come out of left field and enter the game with momentum.
I know Dan Larimer has addressed some of Vitaleks criticism you mentioned, on Merkle tree proofs and other points in this article:
https://steemit.com/eos/@dan/response-to-vitalik-buterin-on-eos

He says: EOS does have a merkle tree over all the transactions within a block. This means it is possible to prove you have been paid without having to process all blocks nor trust the full nodes. In fact, these proofs are smaller than ETH because light nodes don’t even require the full history of block headers.

Anyway zvnowman thanks for your clarity and intelligence and i look forward to more. What a fascinating game to watch....

Sort:  

Wow I just saw this comment, thanks so much! To be honest this did take a whole lot of time, way more than I intended on spending. Thanks for the link to Dan's responses. I agree, it is definitely a game to watch, I appreciate your intelligent commentary. I'm going to have to check out that Radix novel!
In reference to the ternary number system, I remember reading an explanation that had to do with its ability to perform complex computations quicker, which theoretically does give it a major advantage, if only the hardware was available for it.