Don't Forget the Importance of 2FA & Strong Passwords - Someone Just Tried to Access My Cryptopia Account from Iran

scam.png

Hey guys, just a reminder to everyone of the importance of using 2FA and having strong passwords. I happenned to check my e-mail today and noticed a failed login attempt, then noticed another one shortly after. First one was from Iran, second from Omaha, Nebraska.

This is crypto guys, when your money is gone it's gone, there's no bank to protect you, there's no fraud department to give your money back. With great freedom comes great responsibility. Make sure your using strong passwords and always using 2FA.

Sort:  

We have to stay up on our security for sure! I don't get it, people want to take what others have earned because they don't want to work for it. I can't stand it but hey that's life. Thanks for the reminder because we can never let up on security. I upvote and subbed!

Hi
I just found your old post "Reached 500 Steem Power and Now Have a Sliding Vote Power Scale" and I really liked it and I decided to check your profile just to realize that we're sharing number of interest :)

Good luck buddy and thx for another great post.

Hey buddy, thanks for saying hey. I just followed you, looking forward to seeing your content. I really like having the sliding vote scale

Hi buddy :)
You just managed to put such a huge smile on my face :)
I will definetly be following and upvoting you as well. Continue with great content! :)

I've been buckling down on my security and passwords lately. It wasn't too long ago I used the same password for many sites, but I remember someone found out one of my email and password combos for several sites (because I guess they hacked one of the sites I used and the passwords got leaked. They changed my email and password for Amazon (but luckily my credit card was expired cause I never used it due to being in China). Since that time, I realized that this was a warning of a possible future catastrophe and started to really focus on my passwords and cold storage.

The only thing I'm worried about with 2FA is moving out of China, losing my phone number or something else because that could lock you out of your own accounts.

I've been meaning to get a crypto only laptop setup however it's proven difficult as I'm not disciplined enough to only login from one computer lol.

In terms of being locked out are you using Google Authenticator? I am as well and I forgot to backup my seed from Google when I created it and you can never recover it after that. I've also had a few scares with losing my phone or having my phone not turn on momentarily.

One of these days my plan is to login to all my accounts at once, turn off 2FA briefly, erase the app, redownload the app and then set my 2FA backup

Solid PSA. Banks set up regional controls to monitor and restrict activities based on login location locations, but that simply won't work for the crypto world where many users are digital nomads. 2FA is only going to get stronger and adopted by many other industries! Let's hope that 2FA discourages hackers and thieves from continued attacks on you and the rest of us.

Nice post, and very useful information, i like your every post and injoy it, so keep it up, Thank You.

I have had several crack babies try to access my Cryptopia account. I don't have anything over there but they keep trying to get in.

That's the funny thing the only thing I've ever bought off there is electroneum and sent it off the exchange so at most I have a few cents in there.