You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 7 reasons why Litecoin could go to $5000 dollars in a couple of years

Perhaps. But would gold have any value of all of a sudden it was not needed at all in industry? Would it have any value at all if it was ONLY a pretty object?

I think it would preserve most of its value even if it doesnt have any utility anymore.

And Bitcoin is also pretty. It has a place in our hearts. And perhaps thats not enough, but maybe it will. Who knows. What I do know is that more than one crypto currency, utility driven or not, will be worth an AMAZING amount of money. Eth, ltc, iota..something else? who knows will be worth 1000x or 10000x in the future. What I'm trying to do is just position myself. I'm only adding coins. I'm not selling out coins entirely. I'm too afraid I will miss the train when it leaves - and which coin(s) that's going to be is very hard to predict. Right now though, It seems like LTC is ready to take a leap forward.

Sort:  

Perhaps, perhaps, but still I don't think it's quite right to compare a nine year technology/software product that has recently become quite dysfunctional as a currency with a metal that has several thousand years of history as a currency and recently no longer serves any significant role as a currency.

I've started trading with gold at Localbitcoins recently, and I'm positively surprised - it's far easier (and more relaxing) to meet up at a coffee shop and count some 1oz gold coins than to count the equivalent amount of 500NOK-bills. No transaction fees, no worldwide capacity limit for how many gold transactions that can be done during a ten minute interval, and when the gold changes hands, it ... changes hands, no fuzz. :-)